Skip to content

My eyes are fixed

January 4, 2009

“He knows who his Mummy is” someone passed comment as my little man fixed his gaze on me as I walked around the room; completely safe knowing I’m there, filled with love and adoration for his Mama. I fondly remember that familiar moment after birthing my children when they opened their eyes and looked into mine, after nine months of eager anticipation; a melting moment of perfect content and utter love. As I first held my daughter (6 years ago!) and looked her right in the face I said “I knew it was you”; I’d prayed for her, prophesied over her, sung to her and dreamt of her, and here I was, holding her in my arms. For months I’d been saying to friends “I just want to see my baby’s little face”; there’s something about your child’s face; their eyes, a kiss on those baby lips that causes you to hopelessly fall in love.

Proverbs exhorts us to “let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze” (Prov 4:25); we are to fix our eyes on Jesus; our Father, our security, our provision and look to Him for ALL our needs. The more we seek His face, the more we are wooed into His presence, captivated by His beauty and held by His gaze. As soon as we are distracted we stumble and fall, but by His grace He calls out to us, takes our hand and says “look at me”. Precious Mothers of young children; as we look into our children’s eyes today may it remind us of how we are to fix our eyes on our King Jesus.

“Turn your eyes upon Jesus, Look full in His wonderful face, And the things of earth will grow strangely dim, In the light of His glory and grace.
Helen H. Lemmel, 1922

Blessings

Leah

“My eyes are ever on the LORD, for only he will release my feet from the snare” (Psalm 25:15)


One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 6:16 pm

    That song has been stuck in my head for weeks now! It’s great! We’re called to keep our eyes fixed on Jesus – that we fall more and more in love with Him, and that our focus is taken more and more off the things of the world!Really enjoying reading your blogs Leah! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

