Skip to content

A day in our home

January 5, 2009
A Snowy morning

I get asked quite a lot about what we actually ‘do’ to educate our children at home; our pattern and routine of the day is always changing and I’m sure always will but here’s an example of a morning in our home; we’ve done a bit of a photo diary of our learning on the first ‘school’ day in 2009 – Enjoy!

We woke up to snow (apologies for poor quality photo above; but you get the idea!); I of course was the first up in the house; I have the important job of getting the kettle on etc. before anyone else rises. I try to be up, showered, dressed etc. before the children wake up; this doesn’t always happen but today was a good day! After feeding Micah, making sure Dave has everything he needs for the day and kissing him out the door we make our descent (children dressed and hopefully washed!) to have breakfast.

The following timings are of course approximate and I’ve missed out the slots where Nyah spilled a glass of juice on the table narrowly missing our precious new books and the bit where Joel refused to eat lunch!!

8am – Eat breakfast and listen to 1 Corinthians 1 – 4 together
8.20am – Clear up breakfast things, brush teeth and hair and back downstairs
8.30am – Pray together, read and memorise 2 Cor 5:17, chat about the day and the plan for the morning
9am – Literacy (spelling, work books, reading) and numeracy (number recognition, telling the time) work whilst listening to Vivaldi (four seasons; Winter)
10.15am – break, snack
10.30am – Feed Micah whilst reading aloud one chapter of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s ‘Little House in the Big Woods’
11am – Start project work: The Human Body – Psalm 139: 13 – 14
12pm – Lunch
1 – 2pm – REST TIME (and here I am blogging (‘resting’) and drinking tea while Nyah and Joel have a ‘quiet hour’ on their beds (they can read, draw or take small toys) and Micah is napping.



Joel working on the letter ‘Z’ in his Jolly Phonics work book


Nyah reading aloud ‘Each peach pear plum’ by Janet and Allan Ahlberg

Snack time!

Numeracy skills…on post-it notes!
We were working on recognising and putting in order numbers in their ‘teens’

Nyah putting them in order

Some of our resources for our human body project…both eager to get on with it!


‘The Human Body’ by Joel

‘The Human Body’ by Nyah

Making people out of lego…Micah trying to get involved (don’t worry Mummy’s, I took it off him BEFORE it went in his mouth!!)

My lovely friend picked me up a great copy of ‘The complete little house on the prairie’ – the first chapter has got us gripped!

‘The building blocks of life are cells’ – this was a fun way of remembering what we’d learnt about cells in our body. We also looked at Psalm 139:13-16:

You made my whole being; you formed me in my mother’s body. I praise you because you made me in an amazing and wonderful way. What you have done is wonderful. I know this very well. You saw my bones being formed as I took shape in my mother’s body. When I was put together there, you saw my body as it was formed. All the days planned for me were written in your book before I was one day old.

So what does the rest of the day hold for us? Well; I can hear Micah stirring and the children getting restless from their rest (!) so once we’re all up and around there is laundry to fold, bathrooms (I’ve only got one though!!) to clean, toys to play with, food to be bought, journals to write (got our idea from here), dinner to prepare, husband to return home, dinner to be eaten, family time to be had, baths and PJ’s, more stories…and once the children are asleep work starts all over again until I collapse very happily into bed!

Hope you enjoyed your day!

Blessings
Leah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 5:28 pm

    Wow! It is so cool to see what you guys actually did on your first school day of 2009. I have come home to two very excited children desperate to perform shows for me and talk about Kung fu and breakdancing (joel mainly!) Not sure how that fits into 1 Corinthians but I like it!

  2. January 5, 2009 7:04 pm

    The above comment is Dave commenting logged in as me!!

  3. January 5, 2009 8:42 pm

    that was really interesting x

  4. January 6, 2009 12:49 pm

    Leah – you are officially superwoman!!! How’s this for a deal – I’ll bring my kids over every day for you to educate them and I will supply a continuous stream of coffee, tea, cakes, fruit, admiration, flowers and the occasional box of posh chocolates….love, Anna xxxx

  5. January 6, 2009 4:48 pm

    I loved reading about your day!! Thank you for sharing it with us 😀 x x x

  6. January 6, 2009 9:31 pm

    WOW Leah! you really ARE superwoman, amen to Annas comment! Please can we all bring our children one day! 🙂 Love, sarah xxx

Leave a Reply

