Skip to content

Trust me?

January 6, 2009

Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track.

Proverbs 3: 4-6 (Message)


This is one of my favourite scriptures; so simple yet so provoking, challenging and comforting at the same time. This needs to be a daily check in our lives; do we really trust Him? Do we trust Him for our lives, our children, our health, our husbands (future husbands for those unwed!), our finances, even our daily bread? It’s so easy to become dependent on ‘the job’ when we know that He is our ultimate provider, or to ‘lean’ on the latest parenting manuals when actually He and His Word are all we need. I love how the great ‘Casting Crowns’ put it in their song ‘What if his people prayed’: “What if the family turned to Jesus and stopped asking Oprah what to do”! Brilliant; couldn’t have put it better myself (sorry Oprah!).

Trust is a bungee jumping, rollercoaster riding, surf boarding type of journey (have attempted two of the aforementioned activities; comment me and guess which ones…), and you just have to take a deep breath and GO. The bible tells us in 2 Peter 1:3 that “We have everything we need to live a life that pleases God”, in Heb 13:5 God tells us “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So what have we got to lose?

A few (!) years back when I was a University student I ventured on a back-packing/youth hostelling tour of the East coast of Australia; it was an amazing experience, one I’ll never forget. On the last leg of our tour we took a sail boat trip out into the Barrier Reef; the ocean was so beautiful I couldn’t resist dabbling in a spot of scuba diving. So there I was all kitted out, had a quick lesson in under water sign language and off we went; shoved off the side of the boat into the deeps. As soon as I got right under the water I began to panic; despite having a wet suit, full air tank and sufficient training for a small dive (and trainers down there with us) my head wouldn’t accept that I could breathe under water. I quickly put my signing into practice and was assisted to the surface again, very disappointed in myself. One of the qualified divers gave me a quick pep talk: “just breath like you normally would, open your eyes and enjoy the view”; I heeded his instruction and decided to give it a second go, I mean when would ever have an opportunity like this again? So off the side I jumped again, this time determined to make the most of my thirty dollar moments under the deep blue sea. I sunk down into the ocean, began to slowly breath and I opened my eyes to see the most breath taking views of coral, blue and green schools of fish and the bubbles in front of my mask proving to me that I was indeed breathing.

Sometimes all we have to do is take the first jump; then breath like we normally do and enjoy what God has to show us; blessing, favour, provision, healing, children, love , _________ (you fill in the blank).

In what way is God asking you to trust Him today?

Blessings
Leah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 7:06 pm

    Wow – i’ve never heard the message version of that verse before! It’s great!! God’s really been challenging me recently to trust Him. It’s such an important lesson to learn, but it really does feel like a bungee jump sometimes! We like to hold onto things and control things, but we need to learn to trust God’s control… I like to believe you’ve been bungee jumping! 🙂 x

  2. January 8, 2009 7:34 pm

    I’d like to think that too Faith but no, that’s the one I haven’t done…that’s just what your family get up to!!

Leave a Reply

