Skip to content

I love mornings!

January 12, 2009

Yes; I truly am one of those annoying ‘morning people’; I LOVE morning. I love the smells (fresh air when you open a window), the sounds (birds singing), the sights (sun rising and my children’s beautiful faces and bed hair!) and the amazing sense of hope for a new day that God has graced us with.

Admittedly Winter mornings are the hardest; I do press the ‘snooze’ button a couple of times before venturing out of our warm snug bed into the dawn darkness; but nothing that a cosy candle lit living room and a pot of tea won’t take care of!

I’ve learnt to realise that Mama sets the ‘tone’ for the day in the home; if my children wake to a bedraggled looking croaky voiced Mother who has just crawled out of bed then they will feel bedraggled and expect to have a croaky day! If I start my day by being irritable then that’s probably how the rest of the day will be. I like to start my family’s day with a BIG ‘good morning’, a smile, a snuggle and my total attention; it’s as simple as that but often takes more effort than we realise!


We build our day on how we begin our day

Proverbs 14:1 says “a wise woman builds her home, but the foolish woman tears it down with her own hands”. Let’s ask ourselves: are we building or tearing down our homes by the way we started our day?
“But Leah I’ve been up in the night feeding a baby every two hours” I hear you cry; and I’m with you sister BUT we can still be a little ray of light for our families on these dark winter mornings. Here are a few things that help me:

  • I’ve stopped clock watching with every feed or counting the hours of sleep I’ve had, it’ll only makes it worse!
  • We ALL have a ‘rest hour’ between 1pm and 2pm; if the children don’t nap they have to sit quietly on their beds and read/draw etc. It’s something to look forward to if I do start the day exhausted!
  • I try to clear and clean the kitchen the night before so I can come downstairs to a beautiful welcoming kitchen
  • I write everything down that is on my mind or things that need to get done so that I sleep well and don’t wake up with a ‘bogged down’ brain
  • The children aren’t allowed out of their rooms before 7am, if they wake up earlier they have to sit quietly in their rooms. This gives Dave and I a chance to wake up, get ready etc. without a billion questions (they start at 7am prompt though!!).
  • And last, but most importantly; I start my day with the Word of God. Sometimes I play the bible on CD whilst we’re starting our day and eating breakfast, other days I read scriptures aloud in between mouthfuls of cereal and sips of tea…whatever way you do it get it in them and YOU!

This is what we started our day with today and encouraged Dave with as he left for work:

Praise the LORD, O my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.

Praise the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits-

who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,

who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,

who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Psalm 103 : 1-5

Have a great day!

Blessings
Leah

“The moment when you first wake up in the morning is the most wonderful of the twenty-four hours. No matter how weary or dreary you may feel, you possess the certainty that, during the day that lies before you, absolutely anything may happen. And the fact that it practically always doesn’t, matters not a jot. The possibility is always there.” ~Monica Baldwin

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 8:54 pm

    If it wasnt for you Leah I wouldnt get up at all! You set my tone.

  2. January 15, 2009 5:52 pm

    I read this post a few days ago, and every morning since, i have been challenged to ‘set the tone’ for my day. I’ve definitely noticed the impact of it! Really good 🙂

  3. January 29, 2009 11:06 pm

    I am not a morning person, but having read your blog I am looking forward to getting up! Miracles do happen! Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

