Skip to content

Motherhood: our greatest mission!

January 19, 2009
“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

Psalm 139: 13-14

Last year Dave and I had the priviledge of meeting Colin and Nancy Campbell at an Above Rubies conference in the UK. It was a intimate gathering of families from around the country who came to glean from a wise couple with an amazing vision for family. Micah was three months old when we travelled down to Gloucester and Nancy couldn’t resist but have a cuddle with him. As she held him we chatted, I told her how I had found her life inspiring and her books/articles a great encouragment as a young Mum. Nancy encouraged me with these words which have stuck with me ever since:

“Leah; it’s not enough to just love your children – you have
to cultivate a love for Motherhood”

This was so simple but actually a huge revelation to me. Now I pray every day that God would increase my love and vision for Motherhood, I long to feel God’s heart for my children and see through His eyes, especially when I’m tired, uninspired or faced with the ever increasing laundry pile! I long to embrace all that Motherhood brings with grace and dignity as I raise my home of nation changers and history makers! I cry out to God for His wisdom everyday – as ultimately my children belong to him, He formed them and shaped them in my womb ready for me to form and shape them in this world for His glory.


Even though we see ‘having children’ as special and a blessing we are still often on our own agenda amidst our mothering and are busy planning the next part of our life. If we dared to think of motherhood as a calling, a ‘career’ or even our ‘life’s work’ maybe we wouldn’t be so rushed to move on to the next phase; i.e ‘when they’re sleeping through the night’, ‘when they get to school’, or even ‘when they move out’! Isn’t it time to embrace the blessing of God in our home, the olive trees around our table and savour every precious moment; whatever the sacrifice.

To embrace motherhood is to embrace an honoured opportunity to raise children who will bring glory to Gods name; to win their hearts and point them to Jesus. It’s a sacrificial laying down of self and living everyday for those arrows we are sharpening in readiness to one day send out to take this world for King Jesus!

This is how Nancy Campbell puts it at the beginning of her study on motherhood:

Mother…
You determine the destiny of the nation!
You have the most influential career in the nation!
Your influence will affect the generations to come!
You are moulding children for heaven!

I have been a mother of children for 6 years but only recently has God so graciously revealed to me (or I have finally opened my eyes!) a vision and passion for motherhood. I have come to realise that this is my life’s work; my magnum opus, my greatest mission – to raise a Godly generation in my humble home, to love and nurture my babies, to teach and guide my children, to lead and inspire my teenagers; so that being raised in our home would ruin them for any other way than building the kingdom of God in their life time…and doing the same with their children.

Mothers; be encouraged today in your ‘great work’, know the favour of God on all you do and may you walk in His wisdom as you nurture, teach and train your precious little blessings.

Soli Deo Gloria
Leah

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 9:21 pm

    Wow i have sat for a while doing homwork and after felt drained but when reading this i have a picture of each of my kids sitting round the table doing their work with a smile .I know these seasons are short so thankyou for helping me see the greatness of aGod on my children.I pray God will bless you and Dave and your 3 treasures.xx

Leave a Reply

