Skip to content

A ‘selah’ moment

January 22, 2009


It’s Thursday after lunch, little M is sleeping, N is laughing her head off at J doing something crazy and saying “do something else funny” repeatedly…they’re about to have their ‘quiet hour’ which I feel is much needed! I’m surrounded by cut up bits of paper/card and PVA glue after making aqueducts as part of our project on ‘The Romans’ and feeling the need for a cuppa!

This week has been a particular ‘Winter week’; pressing snooze far too times and making our way throughout the day slowly but as purposefully as possible. We’ve had a house full of people most days for dinner (which I love) so plenty of good food, fresh bread and fun table talk to fill these dark evenings.

Yesterday we met up with another lovely home educating family for a Winter ramble at the beautiful grounds/woods/park of a nearby Abbey; we walked, chatted, drank hot chocolate whilst N & J played and soaked up the atmosphere, and little M was snuggled up next to me in the gorgeous wrap (sling) we’re trying out at the moment. The winter air must of knocked me for six as I was snoozing on the sofa by 9pm (not like me!) and still struggled this morning to get my morning skip to start our day…and what’s more we have run out of Yorkshire tea!!

I decided we needed a ‘selah’ before any attempt at Thursday. I’ve found many interpretations of ‘selah’ which all tie into each other but this rang true in my heart this morning; that ‘Selah’ is to pause; our hearts are to pause and to note the connection of precious truths. ‘The connection of truth’; that’s what we needed – a ‘deep calls to deep’ moment with our King Jesus; He was our only agenda our only destination.

The children and I found a spot on our sofa and got into a comfy position to listen to some music; we enjoyed a bit of David Nevue but it was while listening to Katherine Scott’s ‘I Belong’ that I encountered my selah; my moment of connection. I lay and considered how my longing was to pour out my life and heart for God; I felt utter love and adoration for the one who had saved me and set me free, the one who sacrificed His life so that I could walk in fullness.

Tears ran down my face as I thanked God for all He had given and blessed me with; my amazing husband, the children I was holding, a home and a family to encourage me and spur me on.

God is eternally faithful; everyday in everyway.

So how has my day panned out? Well; I have children with teeth falling out and children with teeth growing, I’m not sure what we’re going to have for dinner tonight and the laundry basket is overflowing due to me falling asleep on the sofa last night BUT the truth of the Word of God is ringing in my ears and in my heart and I’m more in love with Jesus today than ever before.

This is life.
This is the life He’s blessed me with
This is the life I’ve chosen
…and I choose to walk it with Him

Well; I’ve enjoyed this short tea break with you – must go, I have a waking baby, art projects to clear and a house to make beautiful.

Take a ‘selah’ moment in your day today; see what happens!

Blessings
Leah

“A single day in your courts
is better than a thousand anywhere else!
I would rather be a gatekeeper in the house of my God
than live the good life in the homes of the wicked.”

Pslam 84:10

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 10:35 pm

    I am so blessed by your writing! Must take more opportunities to return. I so long to enjoy every moment of my life and as I read your words in my heart is a big AMEN! YES PLEASE! ME TOO! I will certainly be trying to take those quiet moments to be with Jesus & refresh & recharge! Blessings, Sarah x

Leave a Reply

