Skip to content

The perfect cup of tea!

January 24, 2009

It’s true! Tea could (and does for some) solve all the world’s problems! You walk into any English home and tell them your woes and sorrows the first thing they will say is “come on love, sit down and I’ll put the kettle on, let’s have a cuppa”.

There’s something so comforting about holding a hot mug of tea and having a good ole chat!

I of course am a Yorkshire girl, born and bred; in fact only my brave sister and I have managed to venture away from the rolling hills and flat capped blokes into the depths of the midlands! Tea is the life source of Yorkshire folk; seriously, I don’t think they could survive without it! I was brought up to the sound of the kettle boiling in readiness of a ‘fresh pot’ just as you were slurping the last dregs of your previous cup!

“Where there’s tea there’s hope!”
Arthur W Pinero

So here are a few facts before we get down to the actual making of the tea itself:

  • Approximately 40% of the nation’s (UK) fluid intake today will be tea
  • Tea without milk has no calories. Using semi-skimmed milk adds around 13 calories per cup, but you also benefit from valuable minerals and calcium
  • Tea with milk provides 21% of daily calcium requirement in 4 cups
  • Tea contains some zinc and folic acid
  • Tea with milk contains Vitamin B6, Riboflavin B2 and Thiamin B1
  • Tea is a source of the minerals manganese, essential for bone growth and body development, and potassium, vital for maintaining body fluid levels
  • The average cup of tea contains less than half the level of caffeine than coffee. One cup contains only 50mg per 190ml cup
  • Tea is a natural source of fluoride and drinking four cups makes a significant contribution to your daily intake
  • Only 11% of UK water supply has fluoride added
  • Green and black teas are from the same plant, Camelia sinensis, and contain similar amounts of antioxidants and caffeine

Info thanks to this website


The perfect sized mug for a cuppa!

So how do you make the ‘perfect’ cup of tea? Well the experts would tell you to use fresh tea leaves with a strainer (only when pouring it out) and go ahead and try it but for me nothing beats Yorkshire tea bags. You can look here if you want the BBC version but this is the Leah version:


Bubbles are a good sign!

  1. Fill the kettle up and switch it on!
  2. Take one ceramic tea pot and when water is boiled pour a little bit in the pot and swill round (then tip out); this ‘warms the pot’
  3. Put two Yorkshire tea bags in the bottom of the pot
  4. Pour on boiling water and fill the pot half full
  5. Re-boil kettle
  6. Fill up tea pot with fresh boiled water
  7. Put lid on pot, put tea cosy on pot and leave
  8. Leave the tea for about 5 minutes; I know it’s hard to wait but it’s worth it!!
  9. Pour milk (semi-skimmed) into a tall mug; never add milk last!
It is better to have the chilled milk massed at the bottom of the cup, awaiting the stream of hot tea. This allows the milk to cool the tea, rather than the tea ruinously raise the temperature of the milk.”
BBC website

10. Pour the tea onto the milk, sit back and enjoy!


The cute tea cosy my Mother-in-law bought me for Christmas; I LOVE it!

So there you go! Have a go my way and leave me a comment (I know you lurkers are out there; don’t be afraid to leave me a note!!) to let me know how it tasted; oh and by the way, in my opinion adding sugar to tea ruins the taste but if you must you must…add it at the end!

“Tea and books – Mmmmmm; two of life’s exquisite pleasures that together bring near bliss”
Christine Hanrahan


My favourite tea pot (donated by my Mum!) with a matching cup and saucer…more of a coffee cup I think though; I don’t use it for tea!

Right; off to make a cuppa!

Have a blessed weekend
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 11:05 am

    You do make me laugh Leah – you and your tea! However, Im right there with you girl – grew up on Yorkshire Tea! I buy it in amongst my other favourites Lady Grey and Earl Grey. Just so you can feel extra special today, I have followed your guidelines just now to make the perfect cup of tea. Results? Splendid! The new bit for me was filling the pot half way and then reboiling it and filling it to the top 😉 AND..I got those ‘extra’ bubbles on top :)Just need to get myself a cute tea cosy now! Have been wanting one for ages! xx

  2. February 3, 2009 7:05 am

    Leah, what a wonderful teapot!Thank you for stopping by my blogLX

  3. March 9, 2009 8:14 pm

    I have subsequently re-read this blog, I am in true repentance for my tea faux pas at the docks, I blame the sea air and the amount of uncomfortable questioning coming from your children – Mike

Leave a Reply

