Skip to content

Baby Wearing

February 27, 2009

“…
most of the world’s infants are carried on the back, often wrapped in some sort of material, a shawl or a poncho – or placed in a home-made baby carrier…”

From – ‘Faraway Childhoods’
(A book containing photographs from around the world by Kevin Ling)

Dr. Lendon Smith, MD mentions mothers wearing baby slings where “the baby would always be near her and feel her motions and even hear her heartbeat, which would remind the baby of the wonderful life in the uterus.”
Dr. Lendon Smith, MD


“It is a common sight in tribal cultures to see women carrying their babies in a sling. This frees up their hands allowing them to work all the while their babies are snug and secure. More importantly than just the convenience of babywearing, it also fulfills a baby’s need for physical contact, affection, security, stimulation and movement. The nurturing touch stimulates growth-promoting hormones, improves intellectual and motor development, and helps regulate babies’ temperature, heart rate, and sleep/wake patterns. Babies who receive a constant nurturing touch gain weight faster, nurse better, cry less, are calmer, and have better intellectual and motor development…”
(From here)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 6:08 pm

    Leah, thanks to this blog i have dug out the ring sling again! i love the idea of baby wearing but never seem to sort it out! However, Caleb is currently in Kangaroo hold and is giggling away. he looks awfully uncomfortable but seems to be enjoying it!! just got to stop the rings slipping!!! you have inspired me yet again you wonderful lady!!!love to you all Rxx

  2. March 1, 2009 12:10 am

    I have a RS too Rachel; took a bit of getting used to but after road testing it for a while M & I are away! You GO Caleb…you need a wrap now, you could have B on your back and C in the RS on your front!!…my buggy hasn't seen the light of day for a long time!

  3. March 1, 2009 5:39 am

    I crocheted my own carrier with my 1st and continue to use it. I do love carrying them about.

  4. March 1, 2009 9:03 am

    Hi HappyHermit! I’d love to make my own Asian carrier at some point; I’m sure your crocheted one is beautiful, thanks for popping by -oh and btw i’m excited to check out your cleaning tips (always need help in that area!)Leah

  5. March 2, 2009 2:49 pm

    i love the baby wraps! and i love the fact that you have a green one! 🙂 looks very cosy! xx

  6. August 27, 2009 7:31 pm

    I carried both the girls for the early months, but then I found it uncomfortable. Can you tip me on slings and carriers that last beyond those early months, that do not put strain on your back? – mine gets particularly sore since having bambinos. xx

  7. August 27, 2009 8:17 pm

    Bex – I would highly recommend you reading and researching baby-wearing in general. When you see it just as a means of transportation then the odd aches and pains put you off. There are SO SO many slings and wraps out there; your body does have to adjust to the new use but also some are more comfortable for different body shapes. When you want to try some out go on the 'slingmeet' website and see if there are some Mama's near you who could let you try theirs…if not contact me again and I'll send you some!!…also, keep watching the blog, I've got more posts up my sleeve to help the 'curious'!

  8. September 4, 2009 10:10 am

    Thanks-thats great!! I am keen, but after Ellie-Faith I had real back problems, so I want some ideas and recommendations. I will check out that website and look forward to your posts.:-)

Leave a Reply

