Skip to content

Pursue Peace

March 3, 2009


“Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.”

Psalm 34:14

I am constantly challenged on how I am building my home; what tone do I start the day on, how am I influencing my children and what is the first thing people notice about me and my family.

A major marker of motherhood in the world today is stress, we see it everyday in the supermarket, in the school yard, in the street and flowing from peoples homes – stress that is maybe caused by an inability to ‘cope’, to ‘get it all done’; stressed caused by a chaotic home, a sense of hopelessness or a blocked goal; whatever the cause it is NOT good and not what God wants for our homes.

The bible tells us to pursue peace, to run after it, to chase it. We must find it for every situation, everyday; peace must be the marker of our homes.

Too often our idea of peace is 10 minutes with a cup of tea whilst the kids are watching Cbeebies, or your parents picking them up for the afternoon whilst you nip out to Starbucks…ring any bells?

If peace is to become the marker of our homes it must reign in all situations; the sick baby, the noisy games, the lack of ideas for dinner, the huge pile of laundry, the night feeds, the rainy days, the tantrums and the dust!

Our homes should be the most peaceful on the street as we serve the Prince of Peace!

Peace isn’t necessarily linked with silence although it often does involve that; peace is the absence of chaos in our hearts and minds, it’s an ability to connect with God despite our surroundings, an assurance of His rest amidst turmoil.

It’s important for us in our role as wife and Mum to pray for peace, pursue peace and do whatever we can to cultivate an attitude and countenance of peace in our home.

Here are some things that I’m constantly working on that help us pursue peace (and eliminate stress) in our home; these are in no particular order and I MUST stress that I am working on these myself…I certainly don’t do them all regularly yet!

  • Get rid of clutter; clutter in your home = clutter in your mind (we’re really working on this at the moment…that’s another post though!!)
  • Plan and prepare where you can; prior organisation for events, holidays, days out etc. can ease the pressure of getting out of the door in the morning
  • Set a meal plan and write a shopping list
  • Don’t watch too much TV; it disengages the mind, can leave you feeling sluggish and unproductive
  • Get fresh air/exercise as much as possible
  • Play worship music around the house
  • Keep fresh flowers in various places around the house
  • Have a clean kitchen to come down to in the morning
  • Use ‘nice’ smells around the house; e.g. put a few drop of lavender oil in some hot water and wipe down your kitchen surfaces at the end of the evening after cleaning. I sometimes burn lavender oil in the children’s rooms before they get into bed
  • Open windows first thing in the morning
  • Get time with your husband; date night, chat time, read together, do the dishes together…
  • Most importantly – have an active devotional life; pursue your relationship with Jesus and living in peace will become part of your nature

May each building block of our homes be marked by the peace of God.

Blessings

Leah

James 3:18
Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 2:21 am

    Keeping the house clean , and keeping the TV off has always allowed me to feel better. The Better I feel The more I can praise god. Your article is wonderful. Thank you for helping.

  2. March 4, 2009 9:34 pm

    another excellent post Leah. You have a gift for expressing yourself and the things that God is speaking to you – I am blessed every time i pop onto your blog. Today the song playing has refreshed my soul just when i needed – I know my redeemer lives.

  3. March 6, 2009 1:56 pm

    So great – though a little challenging and very humbling! Could you expand on the ‘date night’ idea. As a child-free event it is well established as a useful tool on maintaining a marriage. However – I wonder if in addition to a date night to cultivate a greater marriage I (and maybe only I!) need ‘date events’ with my ‘life-joint’ friends to encourage, disciple, rebuke, laugh and cry together. I find myself refreshed and invigorated by a morning in Starbucks with my ‘girls’ and able to approach the next hours or days with my family. Would you agree that time away from your main role (in our cases wife and mother) can be beneficial in this way?

  4. March 6, 2009 10:24 pm

    I like this a lot! Very life changing…please pray for us that this peace will become a daily reality for our lively and challenging family. Ps. Keep writing wonderful lady…I certainly need to hear lots more of this!!!

  5. March 6, 2009 10:30 pm

    I think it’s important to continue to ‘date’ our husbands in marriage, to have time together to enjoy each others company and remember why you married each other; Dave and I don’t gets lots of chance to ‘go out’ at the moment but it’s an opportunity to be creative! I think we have to be careful not to have a mentality that we need to ‘escape’ from our role as wife and mother but I do agree that we need to rest. As much as I enjoy a coffee with a gal pal (especially you Anna!) it’s not essential to my ‘rest’ or ‘peace’; I HAVE to be able to reach a place of ‘rest’ in the business of being Mum and wife…lying on the sofa with all the kids lying on me is perfectly refreshing and fulfilling to me!Oh and btw I think that the “encourage, disciple, rebuke, laugh and cry” element of my life should primarily come from my marriage…

  6. March 14, 2009 8:21 pm

    very inspiring/challenging, Leah, thank you

Leave a Reply

