Skip to content

Propagating Honeysuckle

May 7, 2009

Honeysuckle cuttings in pots in front of my honeysuckle shrub

I love scented flowers, plants etc. and am trying to build a little collection in my garden; I have a mature honeysuckle shrub that I inherited from the previous owners of the house but this summer I wanted to learn about taking cuttings and transporting some beautiful scented honeysuckle to the front of my house (and my friend asked me for a cutting); so here goes…

Honeysuckle is very easy to propagate and the time is also right – cuttings of honeysuckle will root quite easily in early summer. The technique is to take cuttings of this year’s growth, but not the growing tip which wilts too quickly. Cuttings should be about 5″ long, with the base cleanly cut immediately below a node (where the leaves join). Carefully pinch out leaves from the lower half of the cutting and insert about 2″ deep into a rooting mix.

The aim is to keep the rooting medium moist, but not waterlogged, so the cuttings will take up water and keep alive for long enough for new roots to form.

Leave in a shady sheltered place and make sure the compost does not dry out. Check after three or four weeks to see if roots have formed, by giving one of the cuttings a gentle tug to see if it resists being pulled out. As soon as roots are present pot-up into a good sterile potting mix and grow the plants on, keeping well watered, until you are able to plant them out.

You might want to do a few incase they don’t all take root.

We’re still working on our ‘how things grow’ project so this mornings gardening task fitted in nicely with some learning time; N & J helped with the cuttings and I talked them through the process and the expected outcome – more growth!

Happy gardening!

Blessings
Leah

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2009 8:11 pm

    Hi Leah – just wondered if you use a curriculum for your homeschooling? Toby is learning about plants at the moment as well (or maybe it’s just the time of year to do it!).I’m working on growing some small sunflower plants along the front of our house so hoping that they will provide lots of colour before too long!

  2. May 11, 2009 7:51 am

    Hi Sharon – no, we don’t use a curriculum at the moment but it maybe something we consider for the future. I tend to plan ahead a little and look at seasonal activities that we can enjoy as a family. Growing stuff is a great learning tool, let the kids get their hands in the dirt and watch what they plant grow…we do lots of veggies and flowers in our little garden (sunflowers are FAB to watch grow and bees love them!).Love to you and yours x xLeah

  3. May 12, 2009 2:35 pm

    Wow! I can’t believe how many interests we have the same – I love gardening and I just bought some rooting hormone to start trying propogating. Thanks for the smile!

  4. May 23, 2009 4:34 pm

    I found your blog while looking for info on rooting honeysuckle vines, but we have so much more in common! I too am a christian, homeschooling mom of 3, who cloth diapers and is trying to make my home a haven… 🙂 Your blog is very encouraging, and full of great ideas…. Now I’m off to try rooting a vine or two… thanks!

  5. May 25, 2009 3:10 pm

    hello Leah,Just searching around the net for how to propagate honeysuckle & came upon your blog post. I will try this tonight – you have beautiful clear instructions. I have found a very old honeysuckle bush on our property (growing sideways out of a riverbank!) & am hoping I can propagate a couple of new ones to plant by the house. Thanks!Nancy from Canada

  6. May 30, 2009 6:37 pm

    Hi Lana and Nancy – SO glad you found me, thanks for your lovely comments! Let me know how your honeysuckle comes along…

  7. April 29, 2010 4:08 pm

    Wandered in looking for how to propagate honeysuckle, just purchased the edible kind and would like to share some with friends.Many Thanks for the tips,Love & LightDebbie

Leave a Reply

