Skip to content

Making your home a haven – main living area

May 11, 2009


This week Tammy has challenged us to brighten up our living areas, make them a little bit more welcoming for our family.

I live in a typical small English terraced house – we have a ‘through’ lounge/dining area which basically means we have one long room to do everything in!! At one end we eat, do school, play the piano and have access to the back garden; at the other end we chill, read, watch movies, feed babies and snuggle!!

I generally keep it tidy (by the end of the day anyway) as it would be utter chaos but there is lots of room for improvement. Due to lack of time and the blessed, rewarding work of dealing with children’s characters today (!!) I chose to tackle a small area: the fire place.

Apologies for lack of ‘before’ picture but I’ve done well to get this done (baby sleeping on me as I type!)!! I generally stick to neutral colours; my down stairs consists of lots of beige’s, browns and wooden furniture; also my fire place (or shelf above) can be the ‘resting place’ for wallets, keys and mobile phones so I cleaned that up! I also filled my lovely jugs with bluebells from my garden and scented Stocks (from Tesco!) to bring some colour to the eye as you walk in the room.


…and there you have it; my cleaned out, polished and brightened up fire place!

Hope you’re having a blessed Monday.

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 10:48 pm

    Oh, just lovely. Is that a Willow collection? I have those wooden figurines all in angels. I LOVE the beautiful vignette you have..

  2. May 12, 2009 8:14 am

    Hi Angela, thanks for your lovely comments – yes it is the Willow collection; we get them everytime a new baby comes into our home 🙂

  3. May 12, 2009 2:32 pm

    Love It – especially the part about making your home a haven! Thanks for adding my button to your blog! It’s so fun when we are all working together!

Leave a Reply

