Skip to content

Small kitchen – walls of opportunity!

May 15, 2009

Window by my sink looking into the garden

I don’t know about you but I spend a lot of time in the kitchen – it’s a place to create, to teach, to nourish my family…and to clean up after each meal! It’s an important room to a mother, wife and homemaker and I am on a mission to make it a room I enjoy to spend time in.

My kitchen is teeny weeny so I have a bit more of a challenge, I don’t have a utility room, laundry room etc. just a little blessed kitchen for EVERYTHING. After an inspiring conversation with a friend (love those kind of chats) I decided to see what I could do without spending any money!

So, the brief was: use what I already have; lift up off the floor and off the surfaces…


Got out the hammer and nails out and hung up my brushes, mop and bucket

Hung up baskets for fruit/veg and fresh herbs

Created a ‘Momspace‘ for my note book, calender, diary, pens etc. This area still a bit messy – the hooks are for mugs but took them down for the piccie!


Put baskets up for washing up liquid, soap, gloves etc.oooh action shot with water flowing too!!

So there you go; mission almost accomplished – got a few more ideas; then I’ll start on the cupboard clean.

I’ll hopefully post more in the future about making the most of small spaces…with a growing family!

Have a great weekend; make happy memories!

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 3:31 pm

    Love it!! This looks beautiful!! I think I might try the basket idea! 🙂

  2. May 15, 2009 4:42 pm

    Eh up! So lovely to meet a fellow Englisher in the blogosphere, and a Yorkshire lass as well. And even better a Christian, English, Yorkshire lass too! I raise my cup of tea in greeting :)So pleased you stopped by my blog. I’m going to have a little look around your blog home.~blessings from Lancashire xx

  3. May 15, 2009 5:34 pm

    Love it! Looks GREAT!I often find that doing this sort of a project with a friend is very helpful – two minds are often better than one and a bit of discussion can get the creative process flowing nicely. I love the idea of a Mama corner (although mine would have to be a Mummy corner!) which doesn’t just have a calender and to do list in but also is pretty and reflects something of Mummy’s personality as well as giving her a small but regular burst of pleasure. Am thinking about where to put mine!love, Anna xxxx

Leave a Reply

