Skip to content

A life of prayer

May 21, 2009

I am privileged to have been brought up in a loving, God fearing and Jesus following home. My parents were faithful to teach us the Word of God, disciple us in character and pray, pray, pray.

My Mum taught us to pray about EVERYTHING, a common saying in our home growing up was “have you prayed about it?”; it drove us crazy at times but to this day if I’m lost whilst driving, can’t find a parking space, misplaced something in the house etc. my natural instinct is to PRAY. I essentially learnt this through listening to my Mum do it when I was with her in normal day to day activities, as well as being taught, this is what we should do…instead of worrying or getting stressed out!

I love seeing discipleship (impartation of life and emulation of pattern) in motion in my family; just last week as we were on our way to the library I mentioned how I hoped we had remembered all the books – my 6 year old daughter chirped up in the back seat; “come on guys let’s pray now; Lord I pray that all our library books will be there”; I love that it was her first instinct; the overflow of her heart.

Prayer is important; the prayer of a righteous man is POWERFUL and EFFECTIVE; if we want to see things happen we must pray. If we want our homes to be filled with the revelation of Gods peace we must pray. If we want our children to pray; we must pray.

I’m challenged daily about what I’m sowing into my children and what I spend most of my time doing with them; am I constantly telling them what they shouldn’t be doing, am I irritable because they are not on my agenda, am I creating a pattern for them to follow that is good, true and pure?

The Bible gives us TOP TIPS for living a Godly life of wisdom, for loving each other and raising a family. If you’re struggling with issues of contentment, child rearing or anything else for that matter put down the ‘parenting book’, turn off the chat show and open your bible – its food for the soul!

Psalms and Proverbs speak lots about living according to the truth of God’s word for ALL situations in life and it has LOTS to say about children; check these out for starters (all from the New Living Translation):

Psalm 22:29-31
Our children will also serve him. Future generations will hear about the wonders of the Lord. His righteous acts will be told to those not yet born. They will hear about everything he has done.

Psalm 78:3-5
We will not hide these truths from our children; we will tell the next generation about the glorious deeds of the LORD, about his power and his mighty wonders. For he issued his laws to Jacob; he gave his instructions to Israel. He commanded our ancestors to teach them to their children,

Psalm 103:16-18
The wind blows, and we are gone— as though we had never been here. But the love of the LORD remains forever with those who fear him. His salvation extends to the children’s children of those who are faithful to his covenant, of those who obey his commandments!

Psalm 145:3-5
Great is the LORD! He is most worthy of praise! No one can measure his greatness. Let each generation tell its children of your mighty acts; let them proclaim your power. I will meditate on your majestic, glorious splendour and your wonderful miracles.

Proverbs 23:23-25

Get the truth and never sell it; also get wisdom, discipline, and good judgment. The father of godly children has cause for joy. What a pleasure to have children who are wise So give your father and mother joy! May she who gave you birth be happy.

Are we being faithful to create a home that welcomes the presence of God, are we being faithful to teach our children the Word of God, are we praying for our children (and grandchildren) and setting an example of a prayer filled life?

We must be faithful to pray for the next generation; I’m sure many of you can talk of your life being as it because of a praying Grandma. My Grandparents were saved later in life through my parents but I know they pray for me regularly.

My parents were faithful to pray for me and my siblings daily; at one point in my life God directed my father to spend time fasting and praying once a week for his children; he never knew specifically what that was for but who knows what was happening in the heavenly realms in those times!

I know not a day goes by when my Mum doesn’t pray for my family; recently my Mum felt convicted to pray and fast once a week for her Grandchildren (7 so far!) – powerful stuff; they will be blessed! (“Grandchildren are the crowning glory of the aged;parents are the pride of their children”; Prov 17:6)

I am determined to be that praying Grandma; therefore I must be a praying mother.

I have recently thought about writing down a specific, prophetic prayer for each child that I can pray regularly as well as praying for specific things that come up from day to day.

What do you do? Maybe you have some creative ideas about praying for your children that you could share – please feel free to comment!


My Mum holding Micah (I think he was a couple of months old) – a praying Grandma!

Precious Mama’s; let’s spend some time today sharpening our arrows and praying for the gifts God has bestowed upon us!

Blessings
Leah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 5:50 pm

    hi leah great blog today, i know i wouldnt be where i am today or who i am today without the faithful praying of my grandmas and parents,my grandma white was a wonderful battlemaid for god,who prayed for me my sisters and cousins everyday and saw miracles in her lifetime from becoming a christian aged 13 to when she died at 82..like her husband and 2 sons becoming christians,battling breast cancer and when her 1st grandchild died in a car crash aged 26 she never wavered in her faith,she was great and i feel proud to have a part of her in me and also for me to pass on to my children,i try to pray for jonah everyday for his life,its the best start you can ever give your children!!

  2. June 2, 2009 7:32 pm

    very encouraging, Leah, thanksLX

Leave a Reply

