Skip to content

Making your Home a Haven – cupboard love!

June 15, 2009


Our lovely Tammy over on her blog has set me up a good challenge for today; I’m sure she has secret cameras in my home…next thing she’ll be telling me to clean under my bed!!

This week’s Making Your Home a Haven challenge is to clean out or organize a drawer or closet! Most of us probably have at least a few over-stuffed or messy drawers in our homes… so choose one that will have a positive effect in your home and tackle it!! 🙂

I decided to tackle one of my kitchen food cupboards; I’ve not been keeping on top of it and shoving stuff in, as you can see:

Awful..tut tut me!!

Pulled it all out, wiped down the surfaces, threw a few bits out and organised it. I have baking things in one basket, herbs and spices in another and the middle basket is for sauce mixes, stock cubes etc. If I had enough baskets I think I’d put everything in them; but I don’t!

So there you go; let’s see what she gets me doing next week eh?!

We’ve had a bit of a upside down day today; after a busy weekend the children slept late and I wasn’t really prepared for the week, planning etc. so Dave suggested that we did school this afternoon and got other stuff done this morning! Great advice and SO nice to be able to bend a little in our normal routine.

While the kids slept I got on with my usual morning routine and then sat and planned out our day and jotted down thoughts for the week (I’ll plan more tonight). As soon as the children were up, bathed and fed we jumped in the car and headed to do our weekly shop.

In my endeavor to add frugality to my list of ‘home building’ tasks we headed for Aldi; I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Aldi and it depends on what ‘agenda’ I’m on if I shop there. You can’t always get what you need and the services isn’t too great but the prices are fabby!

Look what we got today:

Plums x 2 punnets, peaches x 2 punnets, cherries x 2 punnets, kiwi, pineapple and melon x 2 ALL for £5; each item was 49p each – bargain! Obviously I couldn’t bring myself to work out the food miles…we’ll discuss that another time!

One punnet of cherries almost didn’t make it through the house door before Joel tucked in!! Cherries are his favourite he informed me today!

We made it home, put the food away whilst I tackled our ‘Making your Home a Haven’ challenge for the day; there is time for a bit of lunch and play before we gather round our books for the afternoon.

Nyah making her home a haven!

Trust you’re enjoying your Monday – have a great one!

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 9:09 pm

    You went to Aldi and didn't buy any of their amazing chocolate? (or did you hide it under all that healthy stuff?

  2. June 16, 2009 12:08 pm

    I cleared out my food cupboards a couple of months ago and was amazed at what had been shoved to the back! It actually influenced a fortnight of menus as I used up stuff – thus is saved me money too!!! Win win win!

  3. June 16, 2009 8:44 pm

    Hiya,great blog and love the title.I`ll be back to read more as soon as my four kids give me a chance.Your kids are gorgeous by the way.Feel free to pop over to mine and say hello, any time, the door`s always open.Crazy xx

Leave a Reply

