Skip to content

Worn out Women…don’t be one of them!

July 17, 2009


This is an excerpt from June’s ‘Christian Mother’ series over at ‘A wise woman builds her home’

“So many things can make a mom exhausted.

It might be caring for small or many children, cleaning a home or trying to keep up with a very busy schedule. No matter what the situation is it is easy to become exhausted, get discouraged and feel burnt out.

What I have learned over the years to avoid this situation is to pace myself. Do I have to strictly abide to my ‘to do’ list? Certainly not. It is a tool that was made for me and not I for it! Many women schedule more things than they could possibly do into 24 hours and then get down on themselves when they don’t cross off every task. (Can I get an amen from all the perfectionists out there?)—Must I to get all the cleaning done in one day? Probably not, it will still be there tomorrow. Do I have to do all the activities on my schedule? If I looked closely I could probably eliminate something, and the world would still function. We can run ourselves into the ground by doing too many things–even if they are good–because they can take away from what is best. If mom is busy running around living out of the van with her children because the children have too many activities or say if she is involved in ten different ministries at church then that does not allow adequate time to be home. Moms need to pace themselves and slow down as our rigid self-imposed schedules can be our demise. It also takes time to teach and train children and if you are always ‘busy’ you will not have time for it…”

You can read the rest of it here.

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2009 12:42 pm

    Thanks Leah! This is a great reminder that we all need when we get too busy. A very wise friend told me that I would never look back to the time when Ben was a baby and think "I wish my house had been cleaner / tidyer" but I would look back and think "I wish I spent more time with my baby" So I don't get stressed about having things to do and not getting them done, but jst enjoy playing and looking after my little boy!

  2. July 19, 2009 9:33 pm

    Great post! And good reminder to me! It seems I am always fighting to control our schedules so they don't get out of control! I probably say 1 "yes we'll do that" to 15 "no we won't do that".

  3. July 22, 2009 8:24 am

    thanks for sharing this, LeahLX

Leave a Reply

