Skip to content

Hero husband!

July 24, 2009

Dave carrying Micah on his back earlier on this year on a family holiday

When I consider what God has given me in my husband I feel truly and deeply blessed.

Dave is away at the moment in Africa; he doesn’t go away on long trips very often and this one is for two weeks (10 days left and counting!!) so we’re really feeling it.

The children and I have just returned from an amazing time camping at a bible week; we had both sets of parents on hand of which I am so grateful. The week was full of great teaching, times of celebration and fun moments of meeting up with old friends, and making new ones. We arrived home today after a looooooong hold up on the motorway to the reality of ‘Dave really isn’t here’; he left this note for us in the kitchen:

“I love you guys SO much, I will miss you but remember to look up at the stars at night; we share the same sky, the same DNA and the same promise of a bright future…”

My heart felt sad that he wasn’t with us but excited that he was going to the nations as an extension of our family, extending the Kingdom of God and advancing God’s purpose for today.

I am thankful to God that my husband is a Kingdom Man with a Kingdom vision for our family; his greatest desire is to make Jesus famous and build His kingdom here on earth; starting in our home…

…and while he is gone I get the privilege to pray for him, I get to continue to nurture and disciple our children and build our home. I thank God that He sustains me, He is the lifter of my head and He gives me the grace to simply be while my husband is away. When the children and I were praying for him tonight Nyah prayed: “Jesus please let Daddy have a good sleep and let him dream about us”; I say AMEN to that!

“God, may your dream become alive in our heart, that all around the world Fathers would dream that their families can impact the world for Jesus; that all that they sow into their children would be reaped in great abundance for the Kingdom of God, that each Father would embrace their mandate to teach the Word to their children and be filled with a faith to believe that the Word DOES NOT return void, it accomplishes ALL that it has been sent out to do. May Fathers carry a vision and sense of mission for their homes; that they would hold their head up high, embrace their wives and children and RUN with all their might toward the great prize ahead – Jesus!”

Blessings
Leah

I miss you tonight Dave but I know that you are storing up bedtime adventure stories that our children will LOVE for years to come; I love you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 10:12 am

    once i wipe the tears i may be able to comment..its been great spending time with you this week your my hero!!your blogs continue to inspire me,and i will pray for you,nyah,joel and micah over the next 10 days..and for dave too!! xx

  2. July 25, 2009 11:35 am

    Thank you Katie – you are a wonderful Mummy on a great journey, pray for God's wisdom in everything and He will give it to you.Praying for you, see you soon…

  3. July 27, 2009 6:55 pm

    Oh, leah, what a heartfelt prayer from Nyah.I have answered your Q about the 'teeth' issue in the comments on my blog. I hope it is of some help – those teeth are sharp!LX

Leave a Reply

