Skip to content

From the mouths of babes

July 29, 2009


Today my 4 (almost 5) year old son sat with me and said “Mummy, do you remember when the house was tidy and you used to play worship music in the morning”! I was speechless for a moment (the house does get tidied and I play worship music fairly often!!), wasn’t quite sure what to say but eventually after figuring out what he was referring to I muttered “errrm, yes I do Joel, did you like that?”

I’ve heard so many times people say “children won’t remember how often you tidied the house but they will remember how often you played/read etc. with them”. I’m sure to a certain extent this is true but children DO remember the atmosphere in the home…and this is what Joel was referring to.

These past 12 months have brought much change for our family; Dave has a new job, Micah was born, we started home educating and I guess some of my regular practices have slipped. There was a period of time when I would have had the downstairs tidy, set up for breakfast and put worship music on for my family to wake up to. It’s amazing how the children never mentioned how they liked it at the time but 12 months down the line Joel is obviously remembering it.

As we finished our conversation, we put on some worship music and he got out some cloths and starting wiping down surfaces in the dining room, Nyah and Joel both looked at me and said “we can help Mummy”.

We listened to music, sang along, I tidied, they drew (Micah ate crayons!!) and all was calm. I love seeing my children’s hearts revealed, Joel is a precious little man of God with a deep well of thought and understanding that I can’t wait to see develop and nurtured.

I am challenged that even in the busyness of life to pray that God would expand my capacity for my home, to listen to what my children love about our home, to pay attention to creating a constant atmosphere of peace and calm (especially at the start of the day) for my husband and my beautiful children.

With the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, if I can create a place of presence, peace and purpose within these four small walls I believe I am building my home -a place where my children can be loved, nurtured; a place where they can grow and learn; a place where they can rest and enjoy life, and wouldn’t have to seek it elsewhere.

This is home.

Blessings
Leah

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 8:24 pm

    Awesome Leah! I am inspired and challenged once again!

Leave a Reply

