Skip to content

100th post and 100 things

August 3, 2009


Wow – I can’t believe I’ve posted 100 times!

So, to celebrate in true blogging style I thought I’d post 100 facts you did or didn’t know about me!

Here goes:

  1. I was born and raised in Leeds, West Yorkshire (UK) up until the age of 11 when we moved to Wakefield, West Yorkshire; my parents were born and bred in Yorkshire as were my Grandparents; Yorkshire gal through and through!
  2. I have travelled quite a bit in the States and I lived in St. Louis, Missouri for 9 months in 1997/1998 – I LOVED living in the States but was homesick for my lovely England
  3. I went to the University of Derby to study Sociology, I graduated in 1997
  4. I love the smell of fresh sheets
  5. Jesus is my first love and greatest love; my husband loves that about me πŸ™‚
  6. I have one functioning kidney; I found out that my right kidney is non-functioning last summer, three weeks after Micah was born I had a massive kidney infection and they spotted it on a scan. Praise God it hasn’t caused me any problems since…I see my consultant in September (he wants to remove it…watch this space!)
  7. My middle name is Victoria
  8. My first name means ‘Cow’ in Hebrew – my children (and me actually) think this is hilarious
  9. The first words I said to Nyah when I held her wet slippery newborn body was ‘I knew it was you’ (and I did)!
  10. I once shook hands with Richard Branson outside an Indian Restaurant in London
  11. I used to think that it was a good idea to schedule feed babies… I don’t anymore!!
  12. I love reading the ‘Above Rubies’ magazine; I get very excited when it comes through the door!
  13. I never say never anymore…I like to think I could put my hand to anything and give it a go
  14. I REALLY don’t like tea with sugar in
  15. I miss my friend Susie; she lives in Texas and I live here
  16. Apparently my love languages are: ‘acts of service’ and ‘time’…but I love gifts too!!
  17. Dave and I got married half way through his final year at University, we lived in a dodgy flat in Cardiff but I have SO many happy memories of our 6 months there
  18. I never use a buggy or pushchair anymore – slings have given me wings!!
  19. I really wish I was better at keeping in contact with old friends; I guess that’s where facebook is just fab!
  20. I love Cath Kidston stuff; I’m getting some bits for my birthday and am very excited about it!
  21. I think big families are amazing
  22. I have scuba dived in the Great Barrier Reef
  23. I used to sing in musicals
  24. I used to play the clarinet
  25. I have an obsession with baskets; just love them – put all sorts in them!
  26. I love being pregnant; makes me feel so confident and alive
  27. I’m not very good at recycling; I’m trying very hard but forget sometimes
  28. We’ve just got rid of our TV; that’s a whole post in itself but it feels goooooooood!
  29. I’m not sure what I think about Christmas; we’re changing every year, mmmm – something to ponder
  30. I’ve been to Indonesia
  31. I’ve felt two earth quakes; one in Bali, one in Coventry!
  32. I’m not very fond of cats but I’m nice to them
  33. I like the quiet
  34. I ALWAYS do what I’m told; I’m very obedient!!
  35. I love reading and want to make more time for it
  36. I ALWAYS stick to the speed limit – ALWAYS people!!
  37. I love meeting new people and making new friends
  38. I need a Sat Nav – I might come and visit you if I had one!
  39. I loved my homebirth and would like lots more
  40. I procrastinate sometimes…well a lot actually…I should be doing something else now!
  41. I like things to look pretty
  42. I don’t like milk cartons, butter containers, packets or jars on the table…I got it off my Mum, blame her!
  43. I don’t like coke, but I like diet coke as a treat
  44. I like exploring my creative energy, I like to use it in as many places and in as many situations as possible
  45. I like to sleep on my tummy
  46. I think a good firm handshake is very important
  47. I am Autumn flowing into Summer (colour me beautiful)
  48. I don’t like to have bare feet, I like the idea but I just don’t like ‘stuff’ on my feet…you know, public swimming pool changing rooms, camping showers etc. Urrrrrgh 😦
  49. I don’t like having wet feet
  50. I have a foot ‘thing’
  51. I have long hair, I will always have long hair, I like my long hair
  52. I love learning about different cultures…and adding a bit of that to our home/life
  53. I am open to change
  54. I can speed type and copy type
  55. One day; when my children are grown and flown the nest I might train in midwifery…and then use it in some remote country
  56. I’ve written a few songs; one for my husband on our 1st wedding anniversary, I recorded it and played it for him – I’d love to perform it live for him at our 25th wedding anniversary
  57. I think about adoption a lot
  58. I’d love to go to China
  59. I have my best ideas first thing in the morning; I’m always desperate to tell them to Dave (as he’s first waking up, which he doesn’t appreciate!!)
  60. My Dad says men don’t become ‘real’ men till they are 30!
  61. I won a ‘preach off’ competition during the year on my leadership training course; I think people voted for me because I cried when I talked about Jesus!
  62. I hate goodbyes; I avoid them at all costs. When my friend Susie was here last year (I hadn’t seen her for 8 years), I started crying two days before she left!
  63. I love the sea, I dream of living by the sea and going to sleep to the sound of the waves lapping against the shore…
  64. I like restful holidays with beautiful views
  65. I’m not all that fond of children’s soft play areas, no, actually I don’t like them – I’ve just decided. I prefer real, outdoor running around for children, in God’s beautiful creation
  66. I like a cosy room with good lighting and a good book
  67. I like tea made in a tea pot
  68. I get our milk from a milkman; he delivers it to our door every two days
  69. I LOVE teaching my children
  70. I really like Mexican food
  71. On Dave’s 19th birthday I wrapped and labelled 19 presents and hid them round his room; he had to find them and open them in order
  72. I love mornings
  73. I love having a house full of people; you’re always welcome, and I always make too much dinner!
  74. I have two siblings; an older brother and a younger sister – I love them so much, they are both wonderful, creative, Jesus following, loving people whom I am proud to call my family!
  75. I keep a journal for each of my children, I start them as soon as I know I’m pregnant and write in them as much as possible; if there was a fire in my house they are the first thing I’d grab (assuming my hubby and kids are out safely!!)
  76. I love calamari – it grosses my husband out; mmmmm love it!
  77. I HAVE to watch the bonus bits after watching a DVD
  78. I much prefer to internet shop than ‘go shopping’
  79. I love Dave SO much; I love chatting with him for hours about deep stuff that I know nothing about, I love listening to him teach our children awesome truths about the amazing God we serve, I love laughing at him/with him; he’s the funniest person I know.
  80. I have never broken a bone in my body πŸ™‚
  81. I have a very high pain threshold; I amazed my doctor when I walked into his office smiling with a major kidney infection…he quickly admitted me to hospital.
  82. I love warm freshly baked bread with ‘proper’ butter spread on which of course would be accompanied by a large mug of tea!
  83. My favourite colour is green, I love all things green – I think it’s God’s favourite colour too!
  84. I’m always working on ‘systems’, ‘routines’ and ‘methods’ for my household management; I love the sense of victory when I ‘crack it’!
  85. I think about people a lot, I think about calling them or writing a nice card…but rarely get round to doing it…I REALLY want to change in this area!
  86. I want to live my life standing UNWAVERING on the promises of God
  87. I love to sing Psalms
  88. I’m not a stranger to the microphone
  89. I once took an 8 hour round trip to see Dave for 2 hours
  90. I like this Emma Bridgewater pattern, and this one!
  91. I like green eye shadow; this one is fab in ‘graffiti green’!
  92. I deal well with broken sleep; but one night with unbroken sleep and I feel like a different woman – it happened this week for the first time in a year!!
  93. When I go back to Yorkshire or speak to friends/family on the phone my accent comes back in full force!
  94. I still sometimes wonder why people are always staring at me in public, then I remember that I have a small smiley boy wrapped on me when we go out (you don’t see it a lot around these parts!!)!
  95. I love fresh cut flowers, I’d have them in every room if I could, and the bigger the better – I have sunflowers in a vase in my window at the moment; I love big flowers
  96. I love remembering
  97. I have paint on my hands and dirt down my nails right now!! It’s been a busy day πŸ™‚
  98. I stay up too late
  99. I can’t believe I’ve got to no. 99!!
  100. I love blogging and appreciate you enduring this post and getting all the way through without falling asleep!! PLEASE leave me a comment to say HI, my view ticker turns over every day, so I know you’re out there!

Don’t be a lurker, come on in!!

Blessings
Leah

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 8:36 pm

    Lovely post, Leah! Your first words to Nyah were beautiful!(& I love Cath Kidston too!)LX

  2. August 3, 2009 8:55 pm

    Thanks Lynn – can't quite believe I've got to 100 already, it's been a fun ride!!

  3. August 4, 2009 12:31 pm

    Wow! I thought we were quite different, but girl we are similar in lots! I was raised for the most part in Yorkshire, and lived in St Louis πŸ™‚ I miss my brother alot who lives in TEXAS, only minutes away from Susie. AND, Im totally with you on 4,5,19,23,24(but only because I fancied the teacher),27,32,33,37,42(blame my Mum too!),45,46,48,49,53,54,63,64,66,67,70,85,86,95 and 98. I must confess I feel very convicted on your 36..something I am working on. I LOVE Cath Kidston stuff AND as for number 55..freaky…something many know is a strong heart beat of mine! And in finishing…I think number 9 is just BEAUTIFUL πŸ™‚ xxx

  4. August 4, 2009 8:51 pm

    ALWAYS reading your blogs. I loved this little window into Leah's world πŸ™‚ You're fab! xx

  5. August 4, 2009 8:53 pm

    You are SUCH a provocation! (which is mostly a good thing!!!)

  6. August 5, 2009 7:21 am

    Lovely post Leah. I love what you said to Nyah when you first met her. beautiful. Am always pondering no. 55 – just not sure if i'll ever be brave enough to take the risk and start the training!!!!have a great birthday, enjoying your lovely hubby being home!

  7. August 26, 2009 6:57 am

    Hi Leah, I love your blog and just finished reading your 100 facts abt yourself! I love Emma Bridgewater polka dot stuff too! Hope to meet u and Micah soon. P.S. I need you to show me how to use a sling! I bought a babasling and only used it once cos I didnt know how!!!Blessings, Alicia

  8. January 18, 2010 4:33 pm

    Thanks for sharing your life so openly Leah, it's incredible!

  9. July 6, 2011 7:04 pm

    Hi – loving your blog – what a beautiful introduction and a fun list of things about you! :O)

  10. January 5, 2012 9:02 pm

    As another slingy christian mum it is nice to say hello!

  11. January 16, 2012 9:34 pm

    Thanks Tamsyn and Bernardeena – glad you popped by, you're welcome anytime! Blessings, Leah x

Leave a Reply

