Skip to content

Is the internet stealing our time?

August 16, 2009


Well if you asked me the same question I’d have to say YES!

I recently read Stacey’s post here and have felt challenged to assess my Internet use. I want to be effective in my home for the Kingdom of God, for my husband and my children and know there are ‘things’ that need to be lowered in the rank of importance in my daily life…the Internet is one.

So what am I doing:

  1. I’m taking a break from facebook (maybe permanent, not sure yet)
  2. I’ve chosen 5 blogs that I enjoy reading that teach and edify me and give me tips for living out my calling as wife and mother and every day I get to catch up on one of those. I do ‘follow’ some fabulous blogs but will have a flick through my ‘dashboard’ at the weekend to have a ‘peek’!
  3. After checking my emails first thing in the morning I am going to TURN OFF the computer so I’m not tempted to ‘check’ all day!!
  4. I going to start a ‘computer note book’ (an idea from one of the comments on Stacey’s post) – this way I can write down any sites or research I want to look up when I’ve got a bit more time. I’ll also use this notebook for blog post ideas.
  5. I’m going to give myself allocated computer time (check emails morning and night) when I blog, read blogs or do any other research.
  6. I’m going to limit my blog posts to 2 a week.

Blogging is something I enjoy, it’s good writing practice, it’s therapeutic, it’s devotional and hopefully will often be an encouragement to other mothers like me out there!

I know there will be a time in my life when I can lift my computer time a notch or two up the priority list but for now my children are young, I’m learning to build my home and my mind needs to be kept fresh for this great task as a child of God, wife to Dave and Mama to my beautiful children.

Have a wonderful day,

Blessings
Leah

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 7:56 pm

    i know what u mean. everythingin moderation. i try to use my time to help encourage others and i get encouragement:)

Leave a Reply

