Skip to content

I had one of ‘those nights’

August 19, 2009

“O God, you are my God;
I earnestly search for you.
My soul thirsts for you;
my whole body longs for you
in this parched and weary land
where there is no water.
I have seen you in your sanctuary
and gazed upon your power and glory.
Your unfailing love is better than life itself;
how I praise you!
Psalm 63:1-3

After a ‘bitty’ afternoon of sorting out our home school shelf and sorting through resources I decided to burn the midnight oil and work till late on school prep for September (I am hoping to have a concise ‘plan’ for us to work around for the whole year before we start…), as soon as I decided to hit the sack and snuggle up with hubby I heard that familiar cry from our youngest wanting to ‘nurse’ (we don’t generally use this term in the UK but I prefer it as ‘breastfeeding’ my baby is SO much more than food)…which he did…and then wanted to play…and laugh…and shout…for an hour!!

To cut a long night short here’s how it looked:

5 year old in Mama and Papa’s bed due to being restless
6 year old with a sore throat and temperature
Baby deciding just generally not to sleep

I ‘nursed’, I medicated, I moved beds, I prayed, I brought drinks, I puffed up pillows, I nursed, I prayed, I rocked, I cuddled, I kissed, I prayed, I hung off the edge of beds, I stroked…I slept (eventually!)

Then morning came.

With bleary eyes and cranky children I descended upon the remains of my ‘project’ which involves spreading our entire collection of books and resources all over my dining room, laundry unfinished, toys strewn in various places, an unfinished cup of late night tea, my mind full of what is ‘needed’ be done; I sigh.

I have a choice. HE is the lifter of my head. HE refreshes my soul (more than coffee!!)

I Worship. I lift my hands, and my face – to Him. In abandonment to my King

“This is my prayer in the desert
When all that’s within me feels dry
This is my prayer in my hunger and need
My God is the God who provides

This is my prayer in the fire
In weakness or trial or pain
There is a faith proved
Of more worth than gold
So refine me Lord through the flame

CHORUS:
I will bring praise
I will bring praise
No weapon formed against me shall remain
I will rejoice
I will declare
God is my victory and He is here

This is my prayer in the battle
When triumph is still on its way
I am a conqueror and co-heir with Christ
So firm on His promise I’ll stand

All of my life
In every season
You are still God
I have a reason to sing
I have a reason to worship

This is my prayer in the harvest
When favor and providence flow
I know I’m filled to be emptied again
The seed I’ve received I will sow”

I take a deep breathe
Then take up my responsibilities for the day; refreshed and full of joy

Let the joy of the Lord be your strength today precious (tired) Mama’s!

Blessings
Leah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 6:10 pm

    hey lovely leah,love your blog!i have had those kind of nights alot lately,jonah been very restless in night and im having really painful pregnancy leg cramps there awful,then i need the loo..you know how it is! i wake up so tired but how great it is too be able to ask god for help and he always does! i love that song we play it alot in our kitchen,,lots of lovea very tired mama!!xxxx

  2. August 20, 2009 7:29 am

    thinking of you, Leah :)LX

Leave a Reply

