Skip to content

Story bags and a FREE give away!

August 20, 2009

I’ve borrowed many ‘story bags’ from our local toy library and although we loved the idea of bringing a story to life I always thought they lacked a little creativity; SO, I’ve decided to have a go myself, I have a few of our favourite books lined up but this is where I’ve begun; ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle’

So what exactly IS a ‘story bag’?

It doesn’t strictly have to be a bag; it could be a box or a packet; whatever you have in the house – for my first story bag I’ve decided to make a bag out of some green felt I have lying around (still working on that!) as it goes well with the caterpillar theme.

The basic idea is to pull together items that would bring the story to life; for instance a toy, a game, a puppet etc. My inclination is to also think about sensory activities for the children and tools to enhance learning.

I also wanted to get the children involved in making the items (scroll down for photos) and told them that if we looked after these ‘story bags’ I would hope to use them with their children too!

Nyah and Joel using watercolours to paint the fruit that the very hungry caterpillar ate

We used the book to inspire us to get the right colours and shapes

So what is in my story bag?

  • The book (pretty important!)
  • A beany caterpillar toy (more about that later…)
  • Plastic figures showing the life cycle of a butterfly
  • A big green leaf cut out of felt
  • Painted fruit cut out and laminated

I am hoping to add to it from time to time, I have lots more ideas but this was my starting point. If you wanted to spend a bit of money on it you could look here.

How will I use this story and the story bag with my children?

  • Butterfly life cycle
  • Days of the week
  • Colours
  • Healthy food choices
  • Sensory activities with different textures
  • Read a great story together whilst learning about the repetition and rhythm in literature

You could adjust what you do for any age really, I tried it out with Micah who sat on my knee hanging on every word whilst we practiced counting 1 – 5 (the fruit) and he copied me making ‘eating noise’ whilst holding the beany caterpillar; VERY cute!

So what is the FREE give away?


I found two of these lonely looking caterpillars whilst rummaging in the bargain bin at a local supermarket; one for me and one for you!

If you’d like the chance to win this Very Hungry Caterpillar for your story bag (or just to add to your reading adventures) then leave me a comment with your name answering the following question (which Nyah and Joel came up with!):

What did the the Very Hungry Caterpillar eat on WEDNESDAY?

You don’t need to leave any other details, N and J will randomly choose the winner next WEDNESDAY which I will announce on the blog and you can email me your postal details. I will post our little Caterpillar ANYWHERE in the world so don’t be afraid to enter!

If you’ve never left a comment before don’t worry, you don’t need a blog or anything just click on where it says ‘comments’ at the bottom on this post, fill in the box with your name, click on ‘anonymous’ if you don’t have a blog and away you go! It WON’T show up straight away, I have to check all the comments first which I will do everyday.

Look forward to hearing from you…right, off to eat some tasty plums for breakfast 🙂

Blessings
Leah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 9:03 am

    Hi it's Sarah Slack, what a great woman you are.The answer to the question is Plums.

  2. August 22, 2009 8:07 pm

    Wednesday three plums :)!!!Love this idea!!Thanks for the contest!!

  3. August 22, 2009 8:53 pm

    3 plums!!!

  4. August 24, 2009 8:11 pm

    Thanks for getting on board ladies – spread the word, see if we can make it a bit more of a competition!! 🙂

  5. August 24, 2009 8:41 pm

    awww, the caterpillar is loooovely! 🙂 That book is one of Abigail and Benjamin's favourite stories – in fact, Abigail has it rather memorised! And they like to talk about him having a stomach ache! LOLSo, here's my entry: 3 plums! :)Now lets hope we win! LOL

  6. August 24, 2009 8:52 pm

    Hi, my name is Leslie Roberts. I really enjoy reading your blog! Three plums on Wednesday!! The Very Hungry Caterpillar was my 16year old daughter's favorite book when she was little. Now she reads it to her 19 month old little brother!!

Leave a Reply

