Skip to content

Baby wearing in the rain!

August 27, 2009

When I first started baby wearing and learning about slings my one query was always “but what about when it’s raining?”; and then I quickly realised that I’m not the only person who has thought of these things!! Of course you could always both wear waterproofs and carry an umbrella but then with other little ones round your feet I like to be hands free!

So, here we are – not the most flattering of photos but we had a lovely rainy day outing with special friends yesterday and made great use of my Kinder Rain Poncho – there are many baby wearing coats available with fleece inserts etc. but this is as far as we’ve got with our baby wearing wardrobe.

So just in case there are others out there who are curious about baby wearing and how on earth you do it in the rain…

Mmmmm, this looks like any normal run of the mill rain coat

Huh, looks like he’s attached to something?

Ah ha! He is – his Mama!
I know we look a bit like a two headed blue jelly baby (as my friend Lucy so lovingly puts it!) but it kept us dry all afternoon!
(There is also a hood for baby on the back for back carrying; or carrying two babies!!)
Arrrrrh, I feel sleepy snuggling next to Mama

A wet family pic (Daddy was working); I bet they wish they could all be under there!!

So there you go, all weather baby wearing IS possible!

Blessing
Leah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 9:48 am

    Now *that's* what I need up here in the rainy north of Scotland! 😀 I was just thinking about something like that yesterday when I was out in the rain. I've actually got a slightly improvised method, though it doesn't exactly keep me dry – or all of baby! But recently it started raining when I was wearing Clement and so I unzipped the hood from my rain coat and popped it onto Clement's head and it kept him fairly dry and snug!What was really funny yesterday was when I had the 2 older ones in pushchair and was wearing Clement in mei tai. I had to get post to the post office (as husband was occupied with jury duty) and had to go on foot in the rain to get there before noon. On the way back from post office it stopped raining, so I took the hood off Clement's head. A few minutes later it was raining again so I put it on Clement again, not really paying attention to who was around me. Then I heard a lady standing in front of a shop next to me burst out laughing!! She did give me a big smile, but I think she thought it was just toooo funny to see me pop the hood onto my baby's head!!! 😀 So maybe I need a proper baby-wearing raincoat!! However, my method was good enough to soothe Clement (who has been screaming for a few hours that morning) and he actually fell asleep on the way home and then slept for a good couple of hours after we got home (in his bed).

  2. August 27, 2009 10:19 am

    Sounds like you had an exciting rain day Rachel!! The company I've linked to is a Mama on NM's – I picked mine up from her as a second for £30, it was a great investment, I've used it LOADS this summer!! Pop a note in 'ISO' and see what happens…

  3. August 29, 2009 9:33 pm

    Great photos and great to know that there is a solution out there. I was wondering about this very thing whilst walking round the Eden Project on holiday in Cornwall in the pouring rain!

  4. September 1, 2009 9:22 pm

    What a beautiful giant 2 headed jely baby you both make xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

