Skip to content

DIY Curriculum and School Room

September 9, 2009

It feels like it has been a while, although I know it’s only been a week or so since we chatted last!

Our Internet connection has been off for a few days so I’ve had one less thing to distract me!!

We’ve launched into September with gusto and enthusiasm; we converted our junk filled garage into a fun play/school room (mostly used for art and science lessons) and all the cash we parted with was the cost of the skip…we had the rest of the ‘stuff’ stored in the junk filled garage for one day when we ‘got round to it’!

I have a chalk board and a tall bookshelf/storage unit in a corner of my dining room for most of our formal school work but the rest has wonderfully fit in the garage.

It’s so great to now have a bit of extra space for the children to play, create, imagine and learn.

From this…

to this…

It’s amazing what a bit of old carpet and a few baskets can do…oh, and A LOT of hard work!
Everyone got stuck in

Joel painting; with a little help from a friend

Our ‘learning corner’ in the dining room; I try to keep anything we stick up in the theme of the room – wood is great for this!

DIY CURRICULUM

I thought I’d just share a bit of what we’ve got planned for our learning this year. I took a long break over the summer (from ‘school’) to be able to dream up a great plan for our 2nd year in home education. Last year was a big learning curve for me; I learnt a lot through practice and theory; I’ve read everything from the sunlight curriculum catalogue to the wonderful methods of Charlotte Mason. I’ve flicked through friends various curriculum’s and researched many educational theories but the most important of all I’ve observed my precious children. I’ve watched them thrive in a peaceful environment of learning and fun, I’ve marvelled at their ability to remember facts and fall in love with history, I’ve embraced their need for creativity and freedom to develop in their own unique ways and enjoyed every moment.

This year I’ve decided to take a more ‘formal’ and structured approach to the majority of our learning which in turn gives me ( and the children) the freedom to sway to and from it when needs be. I’ve fit our formal learning in between 8.30am – 12pm each day and the rest of the day we go with the flow along with chores to be done, food to prepare, fresh air to breathe and fun to be had!

The subjects we are covering this year are:

  • Devotions (not really a ‘subject’ but it’s included in our morning session; this includes memorisation of scripture and this month we’re learning the books of the bible too)
  • English literature and language
  • Mathematics
  • History
  • Geography
  • Music (Learning about composers etc. as well as practice)
  • Art theory and practice
  • Bible study
  • Spanish (they have a private teacher and over the summer we also trialed this to keep up their listening
  • Science (and this)

Click on each subject and it will link you to the resource we are using)

As well as these ‘subjects’ I read a loud to them everyday (we reading through the lightkeepers series about men and and women who made a difference in the world for Jesus) and they read aloud to either Dave or I every evening.

So we’re on our way; I’ve made a few ‘tweaks’ already but we’re learning all the time. We’ve had a great couple of days, and loving being back in routine. I’ll post more over the next few months about how I organise our ‘lessons’ and record what we do.

Here are some photos from our first science experiment of the year.

If you blow air into water, it creates bubbles for a moment but they do not last!
If you add soap to the water, it makes the water stretchy which makes it hold air and causes lots and lots…
and lots and lots of bubbles!!

Well, today we have beautiful September sunshine so we’re going to embark on a early Autumn walk (which may also include going up a climbing wall…we’ll see!!).

Hope you’re all well and enjoying these lovely crisp days – life if good!

I’ll be back soon with more news from our home to yours.

Blessings
Leah

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 4:08 pm

    Wow Leah! Can I send my kids over for a bit of schooling!!!

  2. September 9, 2009 7:39 pm

    Good to see you back. All sounds like a lot of fun and I'm sure you're making a wonderful teacher. By the way, what did you do with all that 'garage' stuff that is now homeless?I was remembering meeting you for lunch on campus today while I was enjoying the blue sky and sun through my office window!

  3. September 10, 2009 7:54 pm

    love your school room bodens!!did i ever tell you your my hero,your evrything id like to be la la la la!!looks great xxx

  4. September 10, 2009 8:27 pm

    amazing and very organised.

  5. September 11, 2009 8:35 pm

    Well done, Leah!

  6. September 14, 2009 9:20 pm

    wow, what a fantastic looking school room garage!! 🙂 I love an "organised look"! LOL I hope to be better organised once we get moved into our bigger house – signing papers 2 weeks from today, so it's getting exciting! And I hope to have a designated school/play/learning room and *hopefully* have it organised – at least from the beginning! LOL

  7. September 17, 2009 8:50 am

    That looks great.Nice idea converting your garage to a more usable space

Leave a Reply

