Skip to content

My Favourite Bread Recipe

October 7, 2009

I love making bread; I try to make it at least three times a week. I love presenting a warm loaf to our family meal table at the end of the day, the smell permeates the whole house and I love that Dave often walks in the house at the end of the day to that welcome aroma!

I’ve played around with many recipes and had a really good go at sourdough etc. but this recipe is now my all time favourite; I’ve tweaked it, changed some ingredients and perfected it – now it always turns out great, I know it off by heart, it’s easy to make, the children make it with me and it’s very very yummy!


The Recipe

250g Wholemeal Bread Flour
250g Organic White Bread Flour (I do a mixture as it makes the bread ‘lighter’ and the children (and Dave) enjoy it more…if it was just me I’d do all wholemeal; but we’ll get there!!)
A pinch of salt
Packet of fast acting yeast
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp agave (or honey but we’ve just switched!)
8 fl oz warm water (half boiled, half cold)

Pre-heat oven at gas mark 7, lightly brush tin or tray with olive oil and put to one side.

Mix together in a large bowl the dry ingredients, make a well (hole) in the middle of the flour mixture and pour in oil and agave, – mix well.

Make a well in the middle again and slowly add the water, stirring as you pour. Mix well (I do mine by hand but whatever works for you), form into a ball and sit on a floured counter top.

Kneed well for approximately 5 mins, give yourself a good arm work out; I usually get Joel to give it good bashing – he loves it!

Form the shape you’d like for your loaf; I like to plait mine or create a long loaf (great for slicing smaller slices with a meal).

Put the shaped dough on the tray to rise in a warm place (I sometimes sprinkle a handful of pumpkin or sunflower seeds on top at this stage); cover with a wet t-towel or cling film and leave. The dough needs to double in size; this can take anything up to half an hour.

When dough is ready, bake in middle of pre-heated oven gas mark 7 for half an hour or until golden brown.

When cooled the bread should sound hollow if you tap the bottom…in our house though the bread rarely gets to ‘cool’ before it’s devoured!!

Serve up to happy smiling faces!

Let me know if you give it a go, enjoy!

Blessings
Leah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

