Skip to content

Adventuring

October 15, 2009
Mummy and Micah; Micah is wrapped in our Toucan Girasol

Hello friends!

Just popped by to say a quick hello; I don’t seem to be fitting in blogging as much as I would like nowadays but I have lots of posts lined up in my ‘drafts’ list when time permits.

Autumn (fall) is well and truly here – I think it’s my favourite time of year; the crisp air, changing colours, blue sky, cosy evenings (if I manage to stay awake, I seem to go into hibernation mode!!) and a great sense of change!

We’re making the most of the dry days and heading out to our favourite country park – lots of learning to be done, things to see, touch, smell; write about and draw pictures of (or do craft activities from).

We’ve done leaf pictures, made mushed up leaf and conker paint, made blackberry jam, collected fruits, seeds and leafs galore – this is the life!!

Amazing colours; God is SO creative!

This weekend my little nursling and I head off to Derbyshire to an ‘Above Rubies‘ conference, I’m so looking forward to hearing the ministry of Nancy Campell; what a privilege – and to meet lots of other visionary, hardworking mothers who have left their nest for two days to rest and be blessed! Dave will be holding the fort with Nyah and Joel…who knows what adventures they will get up to!

Me and my precious boys…spot Joel’s odd socks!!

Speaking of adventures – last Saturday Dave whisked us off down to Wales for the day (6 hour round trip) to visit the place that triggered the great revival in 1904. The home and place of ministry to Evan Roberts. You can read more about it here; and I hope to post on our trip soon when I’ve had a chance to sort through the pictures! We were greatly inspired and learnt so much about what amazing things God did in that season. We were inspired to pray, pray, pray and live for Jesus in a deeper and greater way! It was also a GREAT history lesson for the children; on Tuesday we made a lap book all about our trip and what we learnt. Fun times!

Taking a stroll with big sis!

Today I’ve been busy making apple sauce with a ton of apples that were given to me from a friends tree, I made a pan full and the kids polished it off before the end of the day!! It was a winner…but I’m now making more!

We finished our day with homemade pizza, made on my fab new Pampered Chef pizza stone, and also whipped up some homemade garlic bread with fresh crushed garlic; yummy!!

Three little blessing sitting by a tree

As much as I’m in denial how close Christmas is; I AM trying to come up with some creative homemade ideas for gifts and I really need to get on and plan our Jesse Tree for December. Have you started your plans yet? If you have any lovely homemade gift ideas that I could have a go at please leave me a comment and let me know!

Right; off to pack for tomorrow and make sure Dave has everything he needs for the weekend (you know clean pants, food in the freezer etc.!!).

Trust you’re all well and enjoying this beautiful changing season.

Blessings
Leah

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 12:31 pm

    Hello, found your blog a while back.It's nice to read about some fellow Brits!For grandma/aunty christmas presents the children and I are going to tie-dye plain cotton shopping bags from Hobbycraft. We might even sew on colourful buttons too if time allows.

  2. October 17, 2009 6:59 am

    Hi Leah,I really enjoy your blog! For Christmas giving we (my husband and I) give out hot chocolate mix in quart jars. The latest recipe of hot chocolate that I tried was really good. Here it the web site: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/hot-cocoa-recipe/index.htmlHave a wonderful day and God's Blessings be upon your family,Leah Storm

  3. October 18, 2009 8:28 pm

    Hey Leah and Ruth; thank you so much for your comments and lovely ideas, I'll look forward to trying those out…off to check out that hot chocolate recipe :)Thanks for popping by, blessings!

  4. October 21, 2009 7:52 pm

    Last year the boys and I made shortbread biscuits for their teachers. We used some Christmas shape cutters and packaged them in Christmassy bags from Lakeland.

  5. October 23, 2009 7:00 pm

    Hi LeahPhotos are a nice home made gift – or a personalised calendar, I had a look at http://www.homemade-gifts-made-easy.com which has some great ideas :-)Do you make your own symbols for the Jesse tree or get them from somewhere? I attempted one last year but didn't manage to complete it. Love Sarah xx

  6. October 24, 2009 7:42 am

    Hi Sarah – we just printed some off the computer last year and stuck them on a big tree on the wall…BUT this year my plan is to make ornaments and put them on a little tree of twigs or something; really must get started on it though!! It's actually a great thing to do for family devotions during the Advent season – we LOVED it last year and the kids learnt so much x

  7. October 25, 2009 2:24 pm

    Hi Leah, can you remember where you found the pics on computer? I found some last night but didn't realise until halfway through that half of them were missing lol xx

Leave a Reply

