Skip to content

The Lioness prayer!

October 21, 2009

‘Learning to LOVE motherhood’ is one of the many things that Nancy Campbell (Above Rubies) has taught me; it’s not enough just to love your children, that’s easy (most of the time!!), but to walk our walk and mighty calling out in truth and authenticity we must learn to LOVE motherhood.

Last weekend I had the privilege, along with many other wonderful ladies to sit ‘at the feet’ of Nancy Campbell of Above Rubies; her teaching was second to none – she articulates with such grace and love the biblical truths around the particular issues of being a wife and a mother. As well as the excellent teaching, ministry and ability to chat and ask Nancy questions the fellowship with other kindred spirits was precious!

I could go into much detail about the ins and outs of what she shared over the few days we were together but I encourage you to go to the Above Rubies website and peruse the articles when you can; and if you don’t subscribe to the magazine – go for it! I look forward to the amazing testimony’s and encouragement in each issue.

What I came away with this time was a ‘press’ in my spirit deeper than before to pray for my children; not just a daily ‘bless them Lord’ prayer but a deep calls to deep, calling the things that are not as if they are, prophetic, lioness roaring types of prayer for my arrows in training!

I want to ROAR for their lives and their rich heritage in serving King Jesus. I want to raise a Godly household of God fearing, hardworking, lost loving, miracle making, kingdom building individuals that settle for NO LESS than ALL God has for them…that doesn’t come easily or overnight!

Ladies we need to pray; we need to get on our knees for our teens, our kiddies, our toddlers, our babies and our unborn. Pray, pray, pray

“The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much” (James 5:16)

Pray when it’s going great, pray when it’s tough, pray when God reveals glimpses of their bright future, pray when you can’t even see it through the next hour, pray when they’re in your arms and pray when they are distant. Pray, pray, pray

I do some of my most powerful praying when I’m pregnant – I pace the floor of my home speaking promises into being for my pregnancy, birth and child. I am challenged to put that same fervency into my daily prayer for my children whom I’m raising today!

I’d encourage you to write your prayers into a journal or type the up so your little ones can see the fervency you put into praying for them when they are old enough to read and understand.

Those who are reading who don’t have children yet – PRAY for them. My Mum taught my sister and I this from an early age; we prayed for our husbands and children from a very young age. Ask the Holy Spirit to lead you in prayer, pray what you see and what you hear; pray, pray, pray and pray some more!

A wonderful time to pray for your children is when your holding them; if you’re nursing a baby or rocking a little one to sleep – pray for them. When you’re cuddling your little reading student pray for them, when you’re brushing your daughters hair (or gelling your sons!) pray for them; hold them, no matter what their age – get your arms around them and pray pray pray!

Well, I must go – I have a little nursling at my feet signing ‘milk’ and smiling at me…time to pray for him too!

I’ll leave you with a couple of moments from my weekend away:

Above Rubies retreat – October 2009
‘Say cheeeeese ladies’ (see if you can spot Micah and I!)

Nancy Campbell during a teaching session

Have a powerful week in prayer ladies!

Blessings
Leah

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2009 12:04 pm

    "My chosen one, do not fear, for I will give you abundant water to quench your thirst & to moisten your parched fields. I will pour out my spirit and my blessing on your CHILDREN. They will thrive like watered grass, like willows on a river bank. They will proudly proclaim "I belong to the lord!'Isaiah 44.1-5.I was given this scripture in prayer today, particularly praying for blessing and protection over coming pregnancy and conception but also over Jessie-jane and Ellie-Faith. đŸ™‚ hope your well. x

Leave a Reply

