Skip to content

Our words can change our world – Part 1

November 26, 2009

Because a woman’s vocal cords are shorter than a man’s she can actually speak with less effort than he can. Shorter vocal cords not only cause a woman’s voice to be more highly pitched, but also require less air to become agitated, making it possible for her to talk more with less energy expended.
Sparks, quoted in Homemade, Dec., 1984.

We ladies like to talk! I’m constantly amazed at how my children and I can spend 24/7 together and never seem to run out of words to say to each other; this week I’ve been amazed at Joel’s questions – we’ve discussed everything from what radio waves are to how Luke Skywalker’s mechanical hand worked!!

I recently took a trip up to Yorkshire to visit the lovely ladies of Kings Church Wakefield, I was invited to speak at their coffee morning on the ‘power of the tongue’; hopefully over a couple of posts I’m going to share what I shared with them; this is something in the way of an introduction…

The bible has much to say about the power of the tongue, the power of confession and the consequences to using our mouth wrongly.

Ultimately our mouths are created to praise God, to thank, worship and honour him; with our body, with our lips:

Psalm 109:30 “with my mouth I will give many thanks to the Lord”

Psalm 63:5 “You satisfy my soul with the richest foods. My mouth will sing [your] praise with joyful lips.”

The devil has taken what was made for God’s glory and brought death and despair; from the lips of mankind flows words of hatred and fear, gossip and lies, negativity and destruction.

Our words have the power to destroy not only ourselves but our relationships, our marriages and our families.

BUT our words also have the amazing power to encourage, uplift, build and bless.

Proverbs 14:1 tells us a wise woman builds her home, and a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands! I believe our words can also have the same effect on our home.

What words have come out of our mouths towards our husbands and children today?

Did we build or tear down?

Have we spoken well about ourselves today; our self image, abilities and responsibilities?

I’m daily challenged in my speech and confession and repentant in my heart for where I’ve gone wrong – Praise God for His amazing grace and fresh mercies every morning; bring on tomorrow!!

Many blessings
Leah

P.S For those of you who remember Katie; this morning she gave birth to her second son – Seth Peter, we’re so thrilled for Katie and John and can’t wait to see pictures (and meet him in person!), well done Katie, enjoy your new little blessing!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 5:52 pm

    someone I know wrote a book about this…lol

  2. November 28, 2009 9:19 pm

    Yeah DW (!!), a GREAT book; I'll link to it in my next post…where is the book available?

Leave a Reply

