Skip to content

A frosty week!

December 5, 2009


To say this week has been hard would be a huge understatement!

I guess to put it simply I learnt that homeschooling whilst fighting the flu, whilst caring for children who are fighting the flu, whilst breastfeeding a toddler who was fighting the flu is really hard! So we took a few days off to fight it…

We made our attack with lots of sleep (and nursing for Micah), lavender and peppermint baths, raw garlic, garlic and more garlic and raw ginger and lemon tea; all this stuff is a post in itself which I’m not focusing on today but it worked a treat! If you are intrigued about garlic; Kelley over at Kozy Konversations wrote a great post about Mastitis and raw garlic and links to some further reads, pop over and have a read!

Despite the ‘frosty’ week here in our corner of the world we survived! God is my sustainer, my healer and protector and I drenched myself in his new mercies every morning. I am so grateful to Him for my amazing husband who had the busiest week EVER at work but still managed to keep us all afloat, my wonderful children who have been mostly so patient and full of grace for their Mummy and for sweet friends who’s encouraging texts and emails have kept us moving!

So, enough about that – here are some of the highlights from our week:

1. My precious friend Susie gave birth to her 7th child (a son) on Monday – what a blessing!

2. Dave’s parents gave us their old oven as they have had a new kitchen fitted (their old one wasn’t that old); we had it fitted this week, it’s GREAT and much bigger than our old one (which was 3rd hand to us and we’d had it about 8 years!!)

3. I got to have lots of naps snuggled up with my sweet Micah

4. I got time to catch up with some of my favourite bloggers; I am always blessed to go and visit Ann Voskamp over at Holy Experience

5. I got to cook for and hang out with three of the lovely ladies from ‘Blush’; a Christian girl band from Manchester – they were here for the week doing outreach work in one of our local schools

6. Today Dave and the children went out and bought the cutest, most perfect shaped ‘real’ Christmas tree for our living room; we enjoyed pulling out the decorations and teaching Micah the ropes!

7. I got to read LOTS of stories to my children; especially enjoyed reading adventures from our lightkeepers series; yesterday we read about AW Tozer. We also got into a great discussion about communism after reading about Jeanette Li who was a missionary in China. It’s amazing how much learning you do when you take ‘time off’!

8. I got to eat soup for dinner

9. Dave took us out for dinner one night so I didn’t have to cook

10. I found out that mine and Micah’s babywearing picture made the Natural Mama’s 2010 calender – I’m Miss January (with a few others!). They only print to order (which closed last week) so mine is on its way, I’ll take a picture for you to see when it comes!!

Nothing better for the soul than gratitude – really takes your focus off what you’ve been ‘going through’ and helps you realise how blessed you are.

I realise I have a lot of blogging to catch up with; notes to post, items to discuss and Christmas crafting and cooking ideas to post…and I MUST get some photos up but until then I’m going to have one more early night, one more ginger, lemon and honey tea and bid you goodnight!

Blessings
Leah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2009 8:16 am

    Congrats on being Miss January! I can't wait to see it.

  2. December 6, 2009 7:47 pm

    So glad you used the cooker – but it was actually fourth hand! It belonged to my Mum & Dad before it got to our house at Speeds Pingle. Mum always hated it, but I thought it was pretty good. Glad you're all on the mend. xx

Leave a Reply

