Skip to content

A Glorious Future

January 5, 2010


Happy New Year!

Christmas is well and truly packed away for another year, stored in the loft along with happy memories of precious time with family far and near and fun moments with old friends.

As I write I can see out of my window the pretty January snow; our first big snowfall of the season and more than I have seen for many years in our little corner of the world; I’m hoping and praying that the snow remains for the morning so my little ones can build a snowman and throw copious amounts of snow at each other…and then moan that they are too cold!!

I love new year, I love January – a brand new start, a fresh hope and dreams are breathed upon as we embark upon a new adventure in this new year, and new decade.

I thank God for His grace, and it is only by His grace that I can dream of achieving great things for Him this year. My journal is filled with curly writing scribing my prayers and yearnings of my heart for this year but it echos the same year after year; “Lord I long to see your Kingdom come and YOUR will be done on earth as it is in heaven”.

We’ve started our new year family bible reading in the Gospels and our first memory verse is a simple but profound one:

From that time on Jesus began to preach, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near.”
Matthew 4:17 (NIV)

The Kingdom of Heaven is NEAR and our lives, priorities and prayers should reflect these words.

I am challenged in how I am reflecting God’s Kingdom through my calling as wife to Dave, mother to my children and the builder of my home and once again I see my huge list of ‘could improve here’!! I thank God that His mercies are new EVERY morning and in His grace He takes my failings and turns them into opportunities to glorify His name.

Today we made a slightly delayed kick start to our school year; Nyah and Joel were eager to get started and we relished our family learning though slightly distracted by the sudden snow fall. I think my favourite moment of the day was being snuggled up and reading Enid Blytons ‘Nature Lovers Book’; ‘the first walk in January’ and then heading out ourselves to see what we could see on this bleak January day (no weasels or green catkins on our walk unfortunately but we did come home with hot chocolate!!).

Toddler life made it’s memorable mark on our day when Micah quietly discovered a very small pot of red paint and decided to stick his fingers in it; it went over his face, hands and hair but Mama made a great save before it made it to the walls!! I later found him sat (quietly) on the floor with a glue stick, also spreading it in his hair…and then to finish his adventure of a day he proceeded to pass me the contents of a dirty nappy which he had stuck his hand into (I had put the nappy down momentarily so I could get his PJ’s; lesson learnt!) and then giggled!

I’ve declared 2010 (amongst other things) to be a year of celebration and festivity; this year Dave and I celebrate 10 glorious years of marriage and my husband finally turns 30! I’ve loved beginning our year also with precious news of a friends engagement and wedding in April and today our good friends told us they were expecting their first baby!! YEAH, we LOVE baby news round here 😉

I trust you are enjoying the first few days of this new exciting year and enjoying the blessing of God in your lives and homes – thanks for popping by!

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 5:37 am

    Aaah, doesn't January feel so good!I love your perspective on it; God's grace and the Kingdom. Funny about the paint and glue stick! I'm assuming a nappy is a diaper or is it a bib?Kids are so darn cute, aren't they!

  2. January 7, 2010 2:55 pm

    Hi Rachel – yes a nappy is a diaper!! Kids are SO cute, lots of cute moments in my day today…

  3. January 11, 2010 8:57 pm

    Just looked at that enid blyton book (one of my fav authors from being a child)might have to invest – I've not managed find anything yet to really get the children into nature! So thanks for the link.Sarah

Leave a Reply

