Skip to content

The ‘Perfect’ Homemaker

January 8, 2010


As I stepped over the basket of books that had been rifled through and loved by Micah, my eye caught the small pieces of paper that Nyah had left on the piano after playing an ‘office type’ game this afternoon, I walked through the hall trying to ignore the many small items of woolly outdoor attire that was strewn across the radiators and headed up to the boys room to see ‘the den’ that had been cleverly constructed using most of my stock of bed linen.

Dave came home early and I had a ‘moment’ pondering my day whilst in the shower, I was reminded that ‘building my home’ is about building the people who reside in it day to day, it’s creating a haven of peace, love and rest; it’s NOT about having the ‘perfect’ stuff and a constant tidy home (how boring!!), I want my children to be able to adventure, learn and make memories without me considering the ‘work’ that will follow. Still pondering my thoughts I visited Ann Voskamp at ‘Holy Experience’ who so eloquently communicated what my heart was bursting with: ‘YES’ means mess!! Please go over and read her fab post, it blessed me so much.

As we were snuggled tonight for ‘movie night’ I looked across at my family all staring in the same direction my heart was overwhelmed with love for them, I nudged Dave and said ‘look at our children, they are SO gorgeous’ – we are blessed.

Have a great weekend

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 2:41 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I struggle with this issue as well. I get frustrated with the mess, but "there is no mess, when there are no oxen in the stable". I have six "oxen" in my stable, therefore, quite the mess!

  2. January 10, 2010 5:04 am

    Aw I love it! I nudge Tyler, my husband, too to point out our children. Being a mom is such an amazing gift! I have to remind myself sometimes that it's okay to not have my house spotless. It's much more important to focus on my kids. 🙂 *hugs*

  3. January 11, 2010 9:01 pm

    Yep have to agree with the above comments – I used to struggle with comments made by "friends" with just 2 children who were out at school all day! About how messy my house was, took me a while to realise it never gonna be spotless but my children are happy 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

