Skip to content

Families are God’s design!

January 11, 2010

“Father to the fatherless, defender of widows— this is God, whose dwelling is holy. God places the lonely in families; he sets the prisoners free and gives them joy. But he makes the rebellious live in a sun-scorched land.

Psalm 68:5-6

I was struck again today about the awesome creativity of our God.

The children and I were reading the ‘second walk in January’ from our Enid Blyton ‘Nature Lovers Book’ where ‘Uncle Merry’ goes into intricate detail regarding a particular ‘family’ that one of the flowers belonged to; he described the familiar trait (i.e type of petals, way they are set out etc.) and listed many other flowers in the ‘family’ that he was teaching the children about.

I immediately thought of the verse in Psalm 68; ‘God places the lonely in families’; families are Gods design, in all of creation; each creature, plant, insect and tree are part of a ‘family’; each with a familiar trait, common DNA that represents who they are.

I love looking at my children and seeing little common traits that represent Dave and I; Dave’s brown eyes and dark hair (didn’t really get a look in on the colouring…still waiting for my blondie to come along!!); my thick hair and round face – so cute to see them develop and grow. The most common comment about Micah at the moment is how much he looks like Joel (Joel loves this) and how Nyah is looking more like me (yeah, Praise God – at last!).

The world is full of lonely people who have a distorted view of family, to some that word is poison and represents hurt and anger.

But HE puts the lonely in families; our father in heaven will never let us walk alone; our journey in Christ immediately brings us into His family – brimming with perfect peace and harmony with joy that knows no limit.

Our families will never be perfect but lets strive to be salt and light in a world full of disappointment and hurt.

The cry of my heart is that my family would represent the DNA of Christ, familiar traits of who He is and what He represents in everything we do and everything we are.

holy experience

Today I give thanks:

A home filled with peace

A fresh start

Vision

Entertaining friends – them entertaining our children!

Nyah telling me she LOVES learning

Being secure

My little 18 month old nursling

My husband – a great father

My hard working Joel; what a joy!

A Hope and a future

Blessings
Leah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 2:24 am

    That was beautiful Leah ❤ That's funny that none of your kids have blonde hair like you. See I have light green eyes and my husband has brown. Guess what color all my children's eyes are?? lol With Autumn we're still not sure yet. They're the lightest so far… I'd love a green eyed child. I'm waiting patiently lol

  2. January 12, 2010 7:30 pm

    A great list! The verse you shared is very neat! I am so very thank-ful for family. What is cool that even those that don't have blood relatives that they are close to they can still have family through God's family.

Leave a Reply

