Skip to content

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins

January 13, 2010


Ok, so it’s not my photo but mine look just as yummy (apologies, still having camera issues – big sigh!)

I’m always on the hunt for healthy, tasty breakfast options for my family that keep us away from the mundane cereal and toast (although we love homemade bread toasted with strawberry jam!).

I picked up this recipe (along with some others) when we were visiting our friends in Texas last year; she made them as banana muffins but my husband doesn’t like banana in ‘stuff’ so I added lovely blueberries.

They are a HIT in my house; especially as a grab and go breakfast for Dave on his way out to work – I make a big batch and they usually last about 3 days.

Makes about 24 muffins
Ingredients

  • Half cup of butter or marg softened
  • One and a half cups of unrefined brown sugar
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of yogurt
  • 2 cups of rolled oats
  • 2 cups of wholemeal plain flour
  • 2 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1tsp all spice
  • One and half cups of blueberries (fresh or frozen, I use frozen)

Method

  • Cream together butter and sugar, mix in egg, milk and yogurt
  • Mix together dry ingredients
  • Add wet mixture and mix
  • Stir in blueberries
  • Spoon in to greased or paper lined muffin pan – fill half
  • Cook at gas mark 6 for 25 minutes until golden brown

Enjoy; let me know what you think!

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 4:45 am

    Yummy! They look and sound delicious. 🙂 I have a question though. What is "wholemeal," plain flour? That may be a silly question but I'm clueless lol

  2. January 14, 2010 9:39 am

    Hey Kristy; I think you US gals call it 'all purpose' flour, it of course will work with white but I try to use wholewheat/wholemeal/brown 🙂

  3. January 14, 2010 4:42 pm

    lol.. I def. know what all purpose flour is. 🙂 Thank you Leah~ I'll definately be trying these. I have no doubt that they'll be a hit with the girls 😀

Leave a Reply

