Skip to content

Taking time to listen

January 16, 2010


And the Lord came and called as before, “Samuel! Samuel!”
And Samuel replied, “Speak, your servant is listening.”
1 Samuel 3:10

This week as part of our morning devotions we’ve started going through ‘A child’s book of character building’ (no.1); it’s a really simple book of stories (and colouring pages) illustrating areas of biblical character that we ALL need to work on!

This week’s lesson was on ‘being attentive’; as we talked and discussed for 4 mornings what this meant and how we could apply it to our lives I was challenged in my attentiveness the voice of God.

The story of Samuel in the temple is a great illustration of being attentive to God’s voice; sometimes we don’t understand what we’re hearing but it still gets our attention, sometimes we look to earthy means to figure out what we’re experiencing but the more we hear, the more we listen, the more we recognise His voice…and learn to respond.

God’s voice is always speaking, challenging, changing and shaping; He wants us to listen, to respond, to trust and step out of our earthy listening abilities and listen with our hearts to what He is doing in our time.

There are many times when I know I’ve heard God speak but my response was not the same as Samuel’s; instead it was a response of fear (of man) and doubt; ‘what will they say’, ‘what if I’m hearing wrong’, ‘they’ll think I’m crazy’…any of these responses sound familiar?

I want to take time to listen, to rest in Him – to really hear the voice of my Father and respond on bended knee: “Speak Lord for your servant is listening”.

Take time to listen today.

Blessings

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 2:17 pm

    You found it then! I loved this post, i read it after my time sat 'listening' yesterday and although all the puzzle pieces arnt complete, I am hearing his voice speak a fresh this year. bless you guys.

Leave a Reply

