Skip to content

A Treasure for Heaven

March 11, 2010
“Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning”
Psalm 30:5

This week we sadly miscarried a baby.

According to my dates I had been pregnant for 11, almost 12 weeks but it seems that our little one stopped growing from a much earlier stage but was held in my body for longer.

Our family has know great peace as we’ve walked this through; I thank God for showing us life through His eyes, giving us an eternal perspective and we rest in the knowledge that our little one is safe in His arms.

Even though I won’t get to hold this much anticipated baby in my arms, as my wonderful friend wrote and reminded me today, I am privileged and honoured that our Heavenly Father chose me to carry this baby into eternity…a true warrior for His army.

I’ve cried many tears these past few days; it’s amazing how distracted you can feel by the busyness of life and people looking out for you…then it hits me; some times at 3am, sometimes straight after watching a movie, sometimes just as I lay my head down to sleep; in the quiet.

We’ve been overwhelmed by the love, words and prayers of those around us – reaching out to us emotionally and practically; we thank God for each text, email and phone call; each knock on the door, bunch of flowers and we greatly appreciated the hot meal brought to the door on Tuesday night. We are blessed!

My precious Mum came down from Yorkshire for a couple of days to be by my side as soon as she heard; she’s cleaned, washed dishes, held the baby, read to the children, made cups of tea and has been great company – Love you Mum!

I have been processing so many thoughts over the past few days that I hope to share with you in time but for now I’ll leave you with this wonderful poem from the Above Rubies web site but that was also sent to me by Chrys:

MISCARRIAGE

Little baby fastened in my womb

Partaker of my life

Though hidden from my view

Changer of my course

Expander of my waist

Enlarger

And developer of my faith.

Oh little one who rented out my room

I never thought our lives would be

Untied so soon.

You left in sudden haste

And emptied out my small domain.

Child of ours,

What is your name?

For though I’ve longed to carry you once more

You’ve already been perfected

In the presence of the Lord

So my goal for you is gained

In a place of great delight

And soon in glory

We will

Re-unite.

Written by Janet Carlton,

Emily, Minnesota, USA.

Blessings
Leah

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 10:45 pm

    Oh LeahI wish I had more and better words for you. Will be praying for even more peace and comfort.With lots and lots and lots of love.

  2. March 11, 2010 11:36 pm

    You have shared so much of your life, thank you. You have encouraged me in more ways than you will know. May the peace of God that transcends all understanding guard your heart and mind in Christ Jesus.Many blessings to come,Leah

  3. March 12, 2010 8:29 am

    Been praying for you all so much,you've been on my mind all week,the poem is beautiful and what a wonderful thing to know that you will be re united one day…what a day that will be.Leah boden,wonderful mama who inspires me so much,I will continue to pray for you everyday!Love you xx

  4. March 12, 2010 8:32 am

    Love you hun…you are amazing xx

  5. March 12, 2010 10:05 am

    Thinking of you honey- I have popped a private email your way. xxxxx

  6. March 12, 2010 9:53 pm

    Oh Leah, your post made me cry but how amazing to be able to remember that God is sovereign and one day you will meet and hold your baby again – sending you lots of love and hugs.Love Sarah xxxPS Do you have the above rubies book of poems – quiet reflections for mothers I think it's called – it's got some great poems in there!

  7. March 13, 2010 9:30 am

    I'm so sorry Leah. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.I miscarried my precious baby at 13weeks toward the end of January, it's been incredibly hard but also a blessed time, the Lord has held me so firmly through every step. Isaiah 26:3 has been my verse throughout, I can honestly say I've been held in His perfect peace as long as my mind is stayed on Him. I cried again today reading that poem – thank you for sharing it.BlessingsVicki

  8. March 13, 2010 11:37 am

    I'm so sorry to hear this, Leah. 😦 I hope and pray that you are blessed with much of the Lord's presence at this time and comforted by him. xx

  9. March 13, 2010 10:24 pm

    I have not known how to write you. The Lord has asked me to pray for you all week. I did not hear news that you were pregnant, but He revealed it to me. This brings me to tears knowing how amazing our God is…that he speaks to us about our precious friends in need. I am so deeply sorry for this hurt that you are all experiencing. Thank you for sharing your heart. Love & continued prayers to you from across the ocean.Nancy K. ps my word verification is mica

  10. March 14, 2010 8:29 pm

    Ladies thank you so much for your precious comments; Nancy I'm amazed how Gods puts us on the hearts of people all over the world to call on God on our behalf when we're feeling weak; thank you for your prayer, much love to you.Vicki, I'm so sorry for your recent heart ache and pray that God would continue to pour out His peace and grace on your life.Psalm 112 says "blessed is the man who fears the Lord…He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the LORD" – this is amazing and as a family we want to walk; to have NO fear of 'bad' news but continue to trust God whatever the circumstance.Blessing Leah

  11. March 14, 2010 9:30 pm

    Hi Leah,So sorry to read your post, may God give you his bountiful grace, love and patience this week. I have Nancy's book of poems, i can pop it through your letterbox if needed.LoveMary Nevin

  12. March 14, 2010 9:47 pm

    Mary; so lovely to hear from you and thank you for your comment. I would love to read the poetry book, thank you…come in for coffee too 🙂

  13. March 14, 2010 10:23 pm

    God bless your precious family at this time.Love Jo

  14. March 25, 2010 2:50 am

    I continue to pray for you, sweet Leah. Much love.Chrys

  15. March 25, 2010 7:04 am

    Thank you Chrys – bless you x

Leave a Reply

