Skip to content

A Life of Servanthood

March 29, 2010
“So he got up from the table, took off his robe, wrapped a towel around his waist, and poured water into a basin. Then he began to wash the disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel he had around him”
John 13:4 – 5

The Easter story has been (and continues to be) such a powerful message to re-tell to my children; over the past few days we’ve been slowly making our way through the days building up to Jesus’ death and resurrection; reading, remembering, drawing and writing to help capture in our hearts and minds what Jesus did for all mankind.

Last week I read to the children the account of the last supper and they were gripped by the fact that Jesus (our King) would wash the disciples feet (especially after I explained that they would have been covered in sand, dirt and possibly animal poo!!). As I was reading I felt the Holy Spirit prompt me to do the same with my children.

I filled a bowl with warm soapy water and sat around their cute bare feet with a big towel on my knee; one by one I washed their feet whilst talking to them about the power of servanthood; how Jesus was our ultimate example and how our lives are to be laid down for others today.

The moment was very powerful and my heart burst with love for my children, I was overwhelmed that God would bless me with these three gifts – to serve.

I realised deeply at that moment that my great calling as a mother was to serve –
To serve King Jesus
To serve my precious husband
To serve these gifts of children

As tears ran down my face (the children usually ask ‘are you Jesus crying Mummy?’) they asked if they could wash my feet; fun for them – a powerful and a lasting moment in time for me.

I looked down at one point and both my sons had their hands in the water washing my feet; it was such a beautiful picture of family; giving our life for each other; loving, treasuring and serving each other.

The day went on; teaching, blowing noses, changing nappies, cooking, correcting, washing dishes…but something had happened in my heart that was lasting; a memory to capture, a precious treasure of time.

I pray for Gods refreshing and direction for you today as you mother your precious gifts,

Many blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 8:18 pm

    This is a wonderful post! Blessings Catherine

  2. March 30, 2010 3:26 pm

    That was lovely to read and so encouraging – just what I needed to read today thank you xx

  3. April 2, 2010 1:43 pm

    We are studying servanthood right now as well. It has been a joy to watch my children discover how pleasurable it is to serve their family!

Leave a Reply

