Skip to content

Easy (Yummy) Banana Cake

March 31, 2010


My husband isn’t really ‘into’ anything with bananas in; muffins, bread, cake – he will often ‘endure’ it as he’s so sweet but comments afterwards how it’s not really his favourite food!!

I hate to waste slightly ripe bananas, but no one will eat them in our house so I like to experiment with different recipes

This one was a winner with Dave so I just
had to share it with you!!

Got this great easy recipe from here – but as usual I have adapted it…

What you need:

4oz butter or margarine
6oz sugar (granulated, caster, or mix in some demerara, whatever you have to hand)
8oz self raising flour
1/2 tsp Cinnamon (optional)
2 eggs
2 large or 3 medium, very ripe bananas
Handful of mixed seeds (optional)

Grease a 2lb loaf tin.
Mash the bananas with a sturdy fork.
Cream the butter and sugar together and mix in the eggs
Mix together the two yellow sludges you now have.
Mix in the flour and Cinnamon
Throw in the seeds and mix.
Scrape into the loaf tin and bake at gas mark 5 for 40 minutes then lower the temperature to gas mark 2; 150C and cook for a further 30 minutes.

Let it cool slightly before you take it out of the tin ( put on a wire rack to cool ) – I didn’t leave it long enough and my cake broke slightly (you can just about see it on the photo at the top).

Let it totally cool before eating – believe me it’s tastes MUCH better when it has sat for a while.

I made two cakes; one for the freezer then I iced one with butter icing (just used the recipe from the back of the icing packet and added coco and a handful of choc chips – YUM) to serve my family after dinner…and to munch on during the week (it’s a big cake!!).


Enjoy with a cup of tea!

Blessings
Leah

P.S Don’t forget – if you haven’t already done so you can join us on Facebook by clicking here, an easy way to read and interact with the goings on at Home Grown Babies! See you there x x

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 2:24 am

    This looks so delicious! I'm going to have to copy it down and try it. Thank you for visiting me today and for the sweet comment you left. It actually made me feel better! Hugs…

  2. April 9, 2010 9:17 am

    Just made two of these..they are sitting cooling in the kitchen…not sure I will be able to wait for them to cool COMPLETELY..or that one will make it to the freezer !!

Leave a Reply

