Skip to content

Fun With Oil Cloth

April 6, 2010


I think I’ve always just assumed this stuff was expensive (probably should shop further than the Cath Kidston catalogue next time!!) but whilst recently ‘mooching’ round ‘The Range’ I came across this bargain PVC cloth; all these amazing designs cost a mere £1.90 per metre (apart from the one with a tea and coffee pot on, that was £2.30 p/m).

I must say I didn’t buy it all in one go!! I bought 2 metres of two designs to use as table cloths then came home and did my research which led me to a plethora of ideas to use this fab cloth for…so I went and got more this week!

So apart from table cloths (which you just put on the table, no need to hem as the cloth doesn’t fray) and a painting apron in the makings for Micah this is what I’ve done:


A lunch bag and a cook book cover


I like the cook book cover as you can slip recipes in the sleeve as well as it keeping your book water and splash proof!

For the cook book cover you can go to the links on here for a easy tutorial (I think they use glue) but I just figured it out, measured the book, added length for the flap on either side then whizzed the edges through the sewing machine to make this cute addition to my kitchen!

The lunch bag was an idea from a Martha Stewart magazine (thanks to Hilary for popping the mag through my door) but she also has a tutorial on her website here.

I’m planning on making lunch bags for the boys with the green gingham and another one of these pretty ones for Nyah (I’ll have the first ‘practice’ one!). You can use any pegs to hold them together but I just picked up these cute ones from a garden centre gift shop over Easter weekend.

I’ll keep you updated on more oil cloth adventures as I get the chance…watch this space!

We’ve had a lovely Easter weekend in Yorkshire with my parents; we’re now running on a lighter schedule for a week or two before we get our heads down for the summer term and finish our second year of home educating.

Trust you’ve had a lovely weekend and have a blessed day building your home.

Blessings
Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 11:19 am

    Lovely ideas!I also thought it was a lot more expensive.I was given a lovely kath kidson bag and that was pretty pricey!Where did you find it so cheep? Even eBay was a bit over priced when I looked in the past for tablecloth sized cuts.nice ideas :0)glad you had a lovely Easter! X

  2. April 6, 2010 12:33 pm

    Hey Bex; it's from here: http://www.therange.co.uk/ not sure if you've got one near you but ours is round the corner…or they might sell it online? (I haven't checked)

  3. April 7, 2010 5:10 pm

    Genius Leah! Discovered this shop on monday and stood looking at the oil cloth wondering how I could convince sam I needed another tablecloth. Already have a purchased for about£5 a metre from dunelm! It felt wrong to walk away without buying at such a bargain price! Now can return, purchase and create! Sam will be delighted! 😉 r x

Leave a Reply

