Skip to content

An Honest Blog Award

April 18, 2010


I graciously accept this ‘Honest Scrap’ award from Rebekah at Reflection Space, I’ve know Rebekah (in ‘real’ life) since before we were both married so we go back some time, she’s a beautifully gifted woman of grace and peace, full of fun and great hope for her and her family; go check out her blog if you haven’t already! Thanks Bex 🙂

According to the rules, I have to share 10 honest things about myself with you, and then pass the award onto 10 other lovely bloggers!


Number 1. I have had a passionate love for Jesus from a very young age, cultivated by my amazing parents. I played ‘church’ in my bedroom, prayer lines and healings were always the order of the day…I also used to baptise my dolls in the bath (now I AM being honest)!!

By the grace of God, by growing up in a house of peace, by having parents who war in prayer for their children I have never taken my eyes off Him!

HE is my first love and my first priority.

Number 2. If I could write a book about anything (and hopefully will one day) it would be titled something like ‘Keeping Eternity in your Eyes’ – living out your life as a disciple of Jesus, wife and mother with an eternal perspective © Home Grow Babies 2010

I have much to learn before I could even start to scribble down the first few lines, but I yearn to live it out everyday, with every joy and every hardship I am ruined to think I could live any other way that for Him and for His eternal purposes…everything else pails in significance.

Number 3. Dave and I fell in love on a mission trip to Orkney, he was 18 and about to start University, I was a 23 year old graduate who had just finished a year on a christian discipleship course in the States – we married 2 years later.

I love being married
I love Dave – he’s more than I could have asked or dreamed of
It gets better and better…

Number 4. My life has been touched and moulded by some amazing women over the years, I’ve loved those special friendships, if only for a season they have made me who I am today. I have been blessed and continue to be blessed to have some beautiful, anointed and gifted women around me, some live at the other side of the world, some around the country but quite a few live round the corner (you know who you are) – ladies you bless me, speak into my life and serve our family like no others, we LOVE you!

Number 5. I love learning about and practicing hospitality – I LOVE my house filled with people, I love making them feel welcome, filling their tummies, making memories and our prayer is that our family and home would be a haven for many.

My dream is to have a home and land big enough for our family to live on (with a veggie patch and a dog of course) but also to be able to welcome orphans, widows, single mums, teenage mums (you get the idea) to be part of our family for as long as they need.

Our heart and vision is BIG, our house right now is SMALLer…but we’ve never let that stop us!!

Joel – sweet face!


Number 6. I feel much better about the day when I’ve blown dried my hair, got my contacts in and applied some light make-up!

Number 7. I have been a mother for almost 8 years; I learnt to love motherhood about 3 years ago…it’s very different!

Nyah praying


Number 8
. I didn’t learn to drive till I was 30!!! (this is more normal in the UK than it is in the States believe me…I’m not a total freak!!)

Number 9. I love to sing, I know I have musical gifting but have never really disciplined myself enough to really tap into these, I can play many instruments ‘by ear’; you sing it. I’ll play it!!

I LOVE these faces!


Number 10. I’d love to go to China one day; it has always been a nation I have prayed for, interceded for and felt a burden for – when I was in my early twenties I thought I would end up being a missionary there…the dream hasn’t faded

Now it’s your turn; I award the ‘Honest Scrap’ award to:

A Mum with three little Arrows
Rachel’s Ramblings
Raising Godly Daughters
Raising a Quiver Full
Jo’s Boys
A Mother’s Heart
Jenny @ Be Fruitful
A Firefighters Wife
Life with the Boys
The Wilman Family Blog (this would be a great first post Lucy!!)

Enjoy – have fun with it!

Many blessings
Leah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 4:55 pm

    Congratulations! I loved your list because it taught me a few things about you that I haven't learned by reading your blog. I love number 7. This is true for many moms, myself included. Thank you sooo much for passing it on to me. This means a lot to me. I can't wait to go through your list that you've mentioned and hopefully find some more wonderful, Christian moms to follow!

  2. April 18, 2010 5:03 pm

    Enjoyed Reading that and hearing of your Big dreams,may you be blessed in those plans!I was thinking of my wedding as I wrote my honest blog, and how you bravely sung Eva Cassidy people get ready, without a practice! Loved it :0)x

  3. April 18, 2010 9:09 pm

    Hey Leah, really enjoyed reading your Honest Scrap post and learning even more about you! THANK YOU so much for giving me an award, that means a lot! I can't believe I have an award for a blog with only 6 followers but then again I never set out to have followers really! I will be writing my Honest Scrap post soon. I also look forward to checking out the other blogs that you have listed. Have a blessed week! x

  4. April 19, 2010 3:09 am

    Thank you for the award! I loved your list. The pictures are priceless!

  5. April 19, 2010 11:37 am

    Oooh an award and I have not even figured out how make 'make' a post on my blog yet !!!!! Will work on it this week……LOVE your list Leah x

  6. April 24, 2010 12:26 pm

    What a pleasant surprise! Thank you! I'll sit down when I get a free moment (ha!) and have a think about what to share. I enjoyed learning more about you!

Leave a Reply

