Skip to content

Connecting with your Children

April 27, 2010
A message ‘caught on camera’ for Daddy when he was away last week

I was recently listening again to Nancy Campbell speak on ‘Mothers with a Mission’; each time I listen I ‘hear’ more gems of wisdom to apply to my own life.

At one point she addresses a comment that some mothers of large families get which is ‘how do you get individual time with them all’; I don’t know about you but even with my three I often feel like I should have ‘slots’ where they get my undivided attention.

Nancy quite rightly debunks this thought pattern and refreshingly speaks about mothering in ‘moments’; when a child needs a hug as they’ve fallen over, when a child grasps your leg as you’re cooking, when a child is reading to you etc. give them your 100% attention; even if it’s only for a ‘moment’; look in their eyes, cherish them and allow your child to capture that glimpse of time that is so precious.

Of course we have ‘dates’ with our children when we can and there are some things that I do with Nyah that don’t involve the boys and the same goes for Dave with Joel and Micah; but here we are talking about the day to day living and learning with our children around the home.


In the light of these wise words I reflected on my own mothering and those ‘moments’ of time I get with my little blessing throughout the day, I thought about each child and asked myself –

“When do I best connect with Nyah/Joel/Micah”?

I smile at them throughout the day, I hug and kiss them at every given opportunity
I pray, I teach, I mend, I feed, I help, I love…in moments.


I know these ‘times’ will change, and maybe these moments of connection are revealing their present love languages but I treasure them.

With Nyah I connect when she’s on my knee, in my arms and I’m praying for her
With Joel I connect with him when I’m playing with him; lego, blocks, catch – just playing
With Micah I connect when I’m nursing him, looking into each others eyes, feeding and nurturing


When do you best connect with each of your children?


Mark it today, remember this precious ‘stage’ and what those ‘moments’ mean to you
Journal this part of their journey

Let’s make each moment one to remember

Be richly blessed!
Leah

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 3:35 am

    I just got done listening (again) to my Mothers with a Mission 2 days ago! We must've been on the same wave length!

  2. April 28, 2010 5:20 am

    It's great isn't it Rachel? I love the session(s) on our attitude to work, wow that has been a helpful revelation to me and a blessing to our home 🙂

  3. April 28, 2010 8:46 am

    Where can I listen to these teachings? I relate to the above post and I was happy to hear I do have those moments with my girls, but its good to be aware of why they happen and to make a mental note to do it more often. xx

  4. April 28, 2010 8:48 am

    wow this blog is very good, it is properly written and its a very good journaling to read.keep at the good work.

  5. April 28, 2010 9:04 am

    Lovely post as usual Leah …I have nearly worn out my Nancy Campbell 'mothers on a mission' set…..everytime I listen to it I hear something new. P.S Micahs Friday clothes found their way into my laundry basket…and the red p[aint didn't come out :s ….sorry..ah well all part of the memory making !!

  6. April 28, 2010 12:58 pm

    Bex – I need to send you some Above Rubies stuff; let me get Dave's birthday celebrations this weekend over with and I'll pull some goodies together for you :)Leather Journals – thank you for your lovely comment!Lucy – Paint on the clothes pails in the light of how much fun we had with you guys!!

  7. April 28, 2010 7:33 pm

    I bought that set at the retreat think I will put it on wen hubby nips out shortly, I really wanna hear it now – also bought Evangeline's Adventure of mothering, thats good too xx

  8. April 29, 2010 12:53 pm

    I loved that CD. It really helped me with the guilt of not spending one on one time with each child. My dad had been bringing that up each time I would have another child and it bothered me.I spend so much time with my children because I am homeschooling them that I am not even worried about it anymore.My hubby and I have started something new though that has been a huge blessing. When finances are there, Steve takes one child out to lunch on a date, and then the next time I do. We go through the list until each child has had a date with mom and dad on their own. We all look forward to it! It is also cheaper than taking the whole family out and waaaaay less stressful.Great thoughts, as usual and I love the first picture. What a wonderful way to honor your husband!

  9. April 29, 2010 1:30 pm

    Thanks Stacie, we love the date idea too – you must make great memories for your children. I continue to ask God for creativity in my mothering…it's amazing what ideas He whispers in our ears!!

  10. May 5, 2010 5:24 pm

    I love Nancy's teachings she's really helped changed my heart to motherhood too, I've just listened to the 'Beautiful Woman' series – that was fabulous, I've also got 'the atmosphere of the home' but haven't listened to it yet. Evangeline's 'Adventure of Motherhood' is also really good. Looks like I might have to get the 'Mission of Motherhood' next, I just hope I get chance to see the Campbell's when they are in the UK this year.Love the blog by the way Leah.

  11. May 5, 2010 7:27 pm

    Thanks Vicki – I'm just part way through listening to 'The Beautiful Woman' at the moment and really enjoying it…we're also hoping to see the Campbells again when they are back in the UK, we've either been to a conference or I've been to the ladies retreat each time they have been here – I have learnt SO much! I'll post on here more details of their UK visit when I get more details…thanks for popping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

