Skip to content

Thoughts on Hospitality

May 3, 2010
The birthday boy with his youngest son!

We’ve had a wonderful weekend celebrating Dave’s 30th birthday and enjoying the UK bank holiday weekend!

Our open house was a great success; we had over 80 people come through our home in one day – Dave was blessed and it created a great memory for our family.

We’re all still recovering; started to get the house back in order but still lots to do – the children are exhausted and were in bed by 6.30pm tonight; but it was SO worth it.

And it doesn’t stop…

Dave has guests coming into town for a special event at work this week so I’ll be feeding 12 tomorrow night…a breeze compared to 80!!

I love learning about and growing in hospitality; I love being able to serve my husband in this way and allow God to enlarge my capacity and teach me along the way:

“Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully, administering God’s grace in its various forms.”

1 Peter 4:9-10

Mini-Series coming soon!

In an attempt to share my continued journey in hospitality I thought I would write a mini-series on ‘thoughts on hospitality’; a chance to explore the scripture, share lessons I learnt from my Mum!, ideas on how to train our children for hospitality, simple practical homemaking ideas for hospitality, food ideas & recipes for feeding the 5000 and much much more…

Sound like something you’d like to read?

Keep an eye on ‘Home Grown Babies’ over the next few weeks and I’ll hopefully throw in a number of parts from this series in between other posts.

Until then I still have laundry to catch up on and a sink to shine (thanks flylady!!); and at some point I’ll snuggle up with my handsome 30 year old and catch up on some rest.

Many blessings to you and your households – may you know the peace of God in every corner of your home this week!




All partied out!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 10:46 pm

    So glad you had a wonderful weekend! This series sounds great so I'll definitely be watching out for your posts. I love being hospitable and opening up our home to visitors but there is always more I can learn. I too have learnt a lot from my mum about this. Have a wonderful week catching up on everything, especiallt some well dererved rest. Lots of love x

  2. May 4, 2010 7:30 am

    Glad you had a great time, can't wait to read series! You do such an amazing job with your family. xx

  3. May 4, 2010 3:51 pm

    Really looking forward to reading these – I think we used to be good at hospitality but have let it slide a bit lately! Also, I remember a challenge I heard once (can't remember who said it), 'hospitality is not just inviting round the people who you enjoy spending time with, but being hospitable to the people who would benefit from it'.

  4. May 4, 2010 9:34 pm

    Glad you had fun, sounds great.Thinking and praying for your precious family. x

Leave a Reply

