Skip to content

Thoughts on Hospitality – Part 1

May 4, 2010

“If all you have in the house is jam and bread you can still share it with others”

Patricia – AKA My Mum!

Hospitality has to start with a love for your home; if you don’t love your home or love being in it why would anyone else?

You don’t need a huge house and ‘fine’ things to fill your home; from a simple caravan (trailer) to the quintessential English manor; unless there is peace, unless there is a heart given to the home, unless there is an openness of heart and mind to whom enters your doors there can not be a full understanding of hospitality.

Hospitality is far more than inviting your ‘friends’ round for dinner – hospitality is far stretching your heart, home and often your ‘pocket’ to serve others.

I love the recent post from ‘A Wise Woman Builds Her Home’; this part really stood out to me:

“Mother, turn your heart towards home!!! If you have a straying heart that always wants to be out shopping and driving all over town, surfing the net, emotionally distracted and absent with the non-important, pray that the Lord will give you a heart to stay home, to be present, to love it and to faithfully learn how to manage it well. It is well known that the woman is the heart of the home——but if she is gone all the time, now the home is lonely and empty. “

I am saddened when I hear comments like “I would go brain dead if I was home all day” or “I don’t what I would do all day, I would get so bored” or even “it’s good for me to be out of the house…”; I’m sure you’ve heard them and I can’t disagree more – I am more fulfilled, envisioned and excited about building my home (which means being at home) than ever before in my life; I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else or be serving anyone else than my husband and my children; BUT this has not come overnight, God has done a great transforming work in my life and has turned my heart to my home.

Homemaking and hospitality go perfectly hand in hand – you are loving and building your home and welcoming others to share in the peace and love that you have cultivated within its walls.

Wanting to be hospitable is an issue of the heart; not for a specific ‘personality type’ or just for ‘outgoing’ families but for ALL .

Hospitality has spiritual and eternal value – it must not be seen as merely providing food or a place to say for passers by; Hebrews 13:2 tells us:

“Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it.”

And over in Romans (12:13) Paul instructs us to:

“Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.”

Are we ready to be inconvenienced?

Are we ready for the ‘extra’ work?

Are we ready to train our children to welcome visitors from all walks of life?

Are we ready to go beyond our comfort zone, beyond our ‘friends’ and open our hearts to the possibility of entertaining angels?

Are we ready to hear the promptings of the Holy Spirit to how we walk out this instruction to ‘practice hospitality’?

This is not just cooking a meal, making sure the house is ‘visitor worthy’ (tidy) or making up the spare bed – this is our mission; this is part of the picture of fulfilling the Great Commission – will we take up the challenge and play our part in building Gods Kingdom?

Ladies, is your heart at home?

Then share what you have.

And I’ll continue to share my journey…

Be abundantly blessed

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 1:37 am

    Leah, this post is terrific! I too am saddened with women who, basically, don't want to be at home. I even go so far as being saddened by a wife/mom who "wants" to work outside of the home. My most important job as a wife and mother is helpmeet to my husband, mother to my children, and keeper of my home. They are where I want to be!

  2. May 5, 2010 6:25 am

    Thank you for you lovely comment 🙂 Every mothers is at a different place on their jounrney and we must have grace for the journey; I know that for some it is a necessity to work 'outside of the home' for a season, we've been there, done that. I have worked for many years but my husband and I came to a cross roads where we just knew something wasn't right – my heart needed to turn to home and the discipleship of our children…but we had to have a FAITH for it; and we did because we saw it in the Word…more on that later 🙂

  3. May 5, 2010 6:54 am

    Oh Leah I can't tell you how many times other moms tell me that they would go crazy if they stayed at home every day with their kids. It's so sad. Growing up we didn't have people over to our house often. My family kind of kept to themselves. One Sunday a few months ago at church the Elder talked about inviting others over for dinner and fellowship. Growing up I hadn't been taught about hospitality or that the woman made the home. It has been a new journey for me. Opening up my house means being vulnerable as well as opening up my heart and it has been SO worth it! I LOVED your post!

  4. June 10, 2010 1:52 pm

    love your post leah, i love the quote from your mum, she says that all the time and it is sooo true,having been brought up in a family where the door was always open and always piles of toast to eat if nothing else(we were laughing with my mum the other day about the different people we had for christams dinner some years) i love hospitality and using our home where we can,im back at work in august and the thought of it could make me cry,i must admit i find some days at home very hard and definitly a challenge but i know i have a role to do,and god is helping me understand this all the time,,its not easy!! ive been to houses sometimes where the hosts are so particular about things i dont enjoy it at all,especially if jonah is on the loose!!looking forward to the rest of the series!! x

Leave a Reply

