Skip to content

Fruitful Vine

February 2, 2011

“Your wife will be like a fruitful grapevine, flourishing within your home. Your children will be like vigorous young olive trees as they sit around your table.”
Psalm 128:3

I sit here 39 weeks pregnant with our precious treasure #4 and am amazed at how impatient I can be! I’ve waited 9 long months to hold this child in my arms and I’m struggling to wait a possible few more days..or a week or two!

I’ve been meditating on this wonderful verse from Psalm 128 – I love picturing myself as this heavy laden fruitful vine (I certainly feel like it!!) ready for the master gardener to pluck his fruit at just the right time. His timing is perfect and His fruit is beautiful, ‘choice’ fruit – what a wonderful picture.

So I will be patient

I will sit and consider my creator

His awesome love, kindness and faithfulness

The master gardener – preparing his tools; His peace, guidance and love

To bring this choice fruit into His Kingdom

Made and created for His glory

In my womb

What a privilege, what an honour to serve our King in this way

I will wait – I will wait with the King

In eager anticipation of His great workmanship

Many blessings from our home to yours,

Leah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 4:03 pm

    Love this imagery Leah. Thinking of you waiting patiently x

  2. February 2, 2011 5:15 pm

    Just saw this on your FB status, hadn't seen any updates in a while, so this is very exciting news!!!I am also 39 weeks pregnant, so I'm right there with ya' on the patience!! What a lovely psalm to meditate upon as we 'patiently' wait our arrivals! Hope all goes well, love Dawn

  3. February 2, 2011 10:49 pm

    Beautifully written – I rememeber the impatience (though mine was also mixed with nervousness at the birth too) but God's also been revelaing to me in these last few years that all babies come in His perfect timing – we do serve an awesome God!!! Looking forward to the birth announcement thought hehe xx

Leave a Reply

