Skip to content

A praying family is a powerful family

November 17, 2011

I was raised in a home where prayer was a habit; my Mum would drive me crazy by her consistent question “have you prayed about it?” but I allowed it to become part of me and I also choose to live this way.

I continue to be amazed at how much we influence our children; not just through how we act or what we say but also though how we pray. One morning last week as the children and I were praying together I was so blessed to hear Joel pray with such faith and conviction; yes he was repeating things he had heard Dave and I pray, but he had made it his own and was now praying it from his heart to the heart of his Father.

The bible tells us faith comes by hearing and hearing the Word of God (Rom 10:17) – we can build faith in our children by praying aloud with them and for them; let them hear you speaking the Word of God over your day, your family, your health etc. Let them hear you cry out to God when you can’t pay the bills, let them see you on your knees praying for other nations – I even make sure our children hear me pray out loud when I need a parking space!

Whether it’s round the dinner table, at the bed side, driving along in the car or during a daily slot in your family’s schedule let me encourage you to pray with your children; watch and be amazed at what God does with their precious lives!

Blessings
Leah

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 5:09 am

    Amen sister. We have nighttime family prayer and my husband and I very openly pray w/the girls. I also make it a habit to pray out loud off and on all day long. I've def. seen how it's affected our daughters! ❤

Leave a Reply

