Skip to content

Goal Setting with Children

January 3, 2012


So I may have mentioned that I was going to blog about home school planning but since I’m still in the middle of mine I thought I’d wait; I have a general blogging rule that I don’t write about a subject when I’m in the middle of tackling it myself so watch this space, I will return to that topic!

Today is our ‘official’ first day back after the Christmas break, it’s raining and howling with wind, my 3 year old has a tummy ache and we’ve realised our car needs to go in for an MOT; but such is life with a home educating family, things happen, ‘interruptions’ occur and we learn regardless.

We’re still in the midst of organising our lovely new home school room and Mama needs some planning evenings so today I decided over a hot chocolate in the cabin, that we’d look at goal setting and challenged the children to 5 questions:

1. I’d like to get better at…
2. I’d like to learn about…
3. I’d like to get to know…..better (someone who could help them in an area of their education or interests)
4. I’d like to visit… (place of interest, part of the country or world!)
5. One thing I could work on in my character is…

The Word of God shows us a beautiful glimpse of this journey (path) that we’re on with Jesus; Psalm 119 reminds us that His Word is a lamp to our feet and a light to our path, Proverbs 4 tells us that the path of the righteous gets brighter and brighter until the full light of day – what an amazing picture!

It’s important to know where we’re headed, it’s important to think about what we’d like to achieve and see happen in the year ahead knowing Jesus is guiding us and cheering us on, it’s important for our children to see that they are on a journey too and they too can set goals.

So have a go, try these out on your little treasures, pray together and make a plan on how you can put them into action, let me know how you get on!

Hope you’re having a great day!

Many blessings from our home to yours
Leah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

