Skip to content

The Miracle of Motherhood – Katie’s testimony

January 12, 2012

*This is a re-post of my friends testimony from 2009, I love her story and Katie is now, as we speak, awaiting the imminent arrival of her 3rd baby! Be encouraged – God is faithful and kind and He LOVES to bless us!

This is a beautiful picture of our friends John, Katie and their son Jonah – today’s post is their testimony of God’s healing and faithfulness with regards to their hearts desire to have children

“I met john in 2003 and in 2005 we got married, like most couples we talked about the idea of children and with me being slightly older than John we thought sooner rather than later would be best!

After a year or so nothing seemed to be happening so I went to see my doctor, I knew deep down I would maybe have trouble becoming pregnant due to having polycystic ovaries which I’d be diagnosed with in my late teens. My doctor referred us both for tests at the hospital and we were told the devastating news that John also had medical problems and we had less than 1% chance of ever conceiving a child naturally, it was a big shock!

They offered us a chance of taking a fertility drug which would help but then after more tests we were given another blow that it wouldn’t be right for us and would only heighten the chance of an ectopic pregnancy which was a risk the doctor wouldn’t take. This seemed to hit me the hardest; I was told IVF was our only chance and were put on a waiting list which at that point was 12-18 months long!

I was devastated, it was a very hard time, both as a couple and also for me as a women who has two sisters who seemed to have no trouble having babies! I began asking that question; “why me?”, I became very low with all kinds of questions coming into my mind, what if IVF didn’t work? How come everyone I know can have babies but not me?

God is the answer!

I went to see my doctor again who signed me off work for two weeks because I couldn’t pull myself out of this hole; I just felt so helpless. One morning I decided to do the thing I should have done from the start; I opened my bible and read a verse in Isaiah 54:1, the words hit me, it said:

“Sing o barren woman, you who have never given birth. Break into loud and joyful song, you who have never been in labour, for the desolate woman now has more children than the woman who lives with her husband says the lord ;enlarge your house, build an addition, spread out your home and spare no expense, for you will soon be bursting at the seams, your descendants will occupy other nations and resettle the ruined cities”

I immediately knew this was meant for me, I felt that it had been written for me, it was wonderful, I felt the presence of God in my living room and I knew he had given me a promise, my house would be bursting at the seams, not just full but bursting!! I felt excited for the first time.

Weeks went by and again back and forth to the hospital for more tests and the old feelings started creeping back began to feel sorry for myself again even though God had given me a promise I began to doubt it.

Thankfulness brought freedom!

I phoned my mum one day for a good cry and she reminded me that I needed to change my prayers from being pity prayers practically ‘begging’ God for a baby, to thanking God for everything he had done in my life already, how he’d totally changed me from how I used to be, and given me a wonderful husband who was so supportive and also to thank God for the baby I was to have. I needed to thank Him for the promise; to sing joyfully just like the Bible verse had said. So I did, and everyday I thanked God for my life and everything in it and also for the children John and I would have.

That summer we went as a church to Bible camp and in the first meeting we attended John was healed; he came out of the meeting knowing he was better. Later that week we were prayed for as a couple and I was told I had to give all my worries to God, that God was in control and knew what I was feeling and that I didn’t have to worry. The lady who prayed for me didn’t know my situation but when my husband and I went home we both knew something fantastic was going to happen,

And it did; 6 weeks later I found out I was pregnant!! It was a wonderful day, I had to do 5 pregnancy tests just so it could sink in, it was a miracle and God had kept his promise to me.

On the 21st may 2008 our son Jonah Daniel was born weighing a very healthy 9lbs 11oz!!

He is wonderful, a total joy in our life, God’s promise to us. God not only does the things he says , he changes situations from the impossible to possible; he knows us our inner most desires and only ever wants the best for us.

I believe Jonah is not just a ‘fluke’ which many people have tried to tell me, but I believe he is a gift from God to our family.

…and it doesn’t stop there; in March this year whilst on holiday I discovered I was pregnant again; we are expecting our 2nd baby on the 22nd November 2009.

God is SO good!”

Praise God for the blessing of children; I look forward to seeing their home ‘brimming’ with children.

Please feel free to contact Katie either by posting a comment at the bottom of this post or emailing me on homegrownbabies@googlemail.com – I will forward all messages to her.

Blessings
Leah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 7:22 am

    I cannot tell you how much this post means to me!! I am in tears!! I was recently diagnosed with PCOS and am going through it all. I would love to be able to email Kaite. If you would give her my email address or my blog I would be greatly appreciative!!!

  2. May 17, 2009 4:09 pm

    Katie's testimony spoke so deeply to me that I too stopped begging the Lord for a baby and started Thanking Him for all that He had already done and starting believing that we too would have another child. After 3 years of fertility treatment, 1000's of dollars later. Peter and I quit all treatment. And truly knew that God was going to get all credit not medicine. Praise be to God and for leading me to the inspirational story of John & Katie. Still makes me cry!Love, Nancy Kingsriter

  3. May 17, 2009 6:53 pm

    Fabulous testimony. I too really believe that this is not a fluke. Having been told we could no longer conceive, (ICSI IVF was our only option) and after a v.painful year or so we received a prophecy that we would have as many as we wanted. We conceived Bethan the next month and then caleb within 6 months of Bethan being born. Our God is a God or miracles. It’s not that the doctors got things wrong, or that we are a fluke it’s that our God loves us and grants us the desires of our hearts and moved in our lives. The changes in me as a result of those 20 months are unbelievable i feel i am a totally different person and am grateful to God for all he did in me during that time. So many blessings that have come out of such a painful time that I cannot even begin to list them. My God ROCKS!!!

  4. January 16, 2012 12:39 pm

    That is a lovely testimony and one I can telate too as a fellow pcos sufferer though we only had 2 years of infertility and now expecting bayby number 6!!! God is good!

Leave a Reply

