Skip to content

Mothers that change the world!

January 14, 2012
Mary Sumner – Founder of the Mothers Union


Just popping by before we start our Saturday adventures to share a bit of reading I’ve been doing this morning.  Whilst at a friends house for dinner last night she excitedly pushed her Ipad in front of my face and said you HAVE to read this.  She had been reading about the history of the Mothers Union, the amazing founder and pioneer, wife and mother to three, Mary Sumner.  Mary’s heart and passion began to changed a nations thinking, brought women to their knees in prayer and led an revolution of change in marriages and parenting across the world.

You can read about her here, these are two of my favourite quotes that have touched my heart and stirred my faith this morning:

“If women united in prayer and committed themselves to a Christian life the nation could be transformed.”


“She believed that women from every class needed to understand that motherhood was a profession and be equipped to perform it. Motherhood involved more than providing for the physical needs of children. The primary responsibility of mothers was to raise their children in the love of God. Mothers could only do this, she believed, if their lives were firmly rooted in prayer. “


Are there stories of women in history that stir an excite your heart?  I’d love to hear about them!

Have a blessed Saturday!
Leah


6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2012 1:53 pm

    Great blog! I found my way here because of twitter. But back to your question… women in history who excite my heart? Well, I just blogged about the queen of Sheba and what she has to teach moms. Check it out! http://www.mom365word.com/2012/01/1-kings-9-11.html

  2. January 14, 2012 4:10 pm

    Thank you – glad you found me, just getting back on the blogging saddle after a break, great to meet new 'friends'. I come over and read your post – blessings, Leah

  3. January 14, 2012 10:39 pm

    Wow, what an inspiring woman she is! I have never heard of her until now, thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. January 15, 2012 8:34 pm

    I love that last quote, about raising their children in the love of God. That's what I believe about our children too. Thanks for the encouragement! Susanna Wesley is a woman that is an inspiration to me 🙂

  5. January 16, 2012 12:19 am

    amen! Love what she said. I have never heard of her either.

  6. January 16, 2012 1:36 pm

    Thanks for your comments ladies; Rhoda – I LOVE Susanna Wesley's story, I love that she got time with God by hiding under her apron!!

Leave a Reply

