Skip to content

Real productivity!

January 21, 2012
Me with hubby and youngest daughter – some of my finest ‘work’!

Isn’t ticking things off your ‘to do’ list the best feeling in the world?  Feeling productive is a big deal to me;  I wouldn’t say I’m a ‘control freak’ but I generally have a ‘plan’, know what I want to achieve in a day/week/month or even year but of course, over 9 years of being a parent I’ve come to terms with the fact that with one rough night, a sick baby, a broken boiler, a decorating project or an emotional melt down from your 3 year old can throw you off for hours or even days (or even weeks)!


I often flop into bed at the end of ‘one of those days’ and declare to my husband that I haven’t achieved much that day (which usually means the dishes are piled up and the laundry didn’t get folded!); I’m thankful that he’s quick to respond and correct me with a reminder of what I’ve actually done: helped and supported him by getting his clothes ironed and ready for work, woke him up a kiss and hot cup of tea, fed my family and made sure they were dressed, groomed, loved, educated and nurtured all day.  He reminds me that if all I did today was love my children well then I’ve achieved a lot, I’ve sown into eternity and worked on the most important thing; their hearts!

So as much as this needs to get done:

Laundry
Clean stairs
Plan for meeting tomorrow
Plan next weeks school
Phone Claire
De-clutter living room top drawer
Write ground breaking, history making blog post (smile)

Maybe I should prioritise this:

Peace
Love 
Joy
Laughter
Cuddles
Kisses
Conversation
Memories

Now that’s productive day Mothers!

Hope you’re having a blessed weekend,
Leah
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 11:41 am

    Oh yes – I can SO relate to this one, Leah! Every day, a new opportunity to get it right (with generous helpings of grace!!) Thanks for the encouragement and for sharing!! Jenxx

Leave a Reply

