Skip to content

Mothers are Wise

February 2, 2012

Mothers, do you pray for wisdom every day or go at it in your own strength?

You don’t get very far in your own strength do you?

The bible tells us in the book of James that if any of us lack wisdom, we need to ask God for it and God will give it to us; He hands it out to us, freely, everyday!

Get Wisdom! Write this at the top of your list: Get Understanding! Throw your arms around her—believe me, you won’t regret it; never let her go—she’ll make your life glorious. She’ll garland your life with grace, she’ll festoon your days with beauty. Prov 4 (Message)

Sounds amazing hey?  Well this could be your life, and mine – even amongst the sleepless nights, the nappies, the cleaning, the cooking, the celebrating, the heartache, the brain ache and the needing of cake, wisdom can be yours!

3 tips for being a wise Mama

  1. Admit you can’t do it in your own strength; you’ve been doing that for too long.  If you want to be victorious in your motherhood and your family life submit it to God…ALL of it.  Take a moment now and ask God if there is any part of your life that is not submitted to Him and take some time to pray.
  2. Read a proverb a day; there are 31 – how cool is that! They don’t take long but they are food for your soul. I read one everyday (my Mum taught me this) with a note-book and pen by my side to note down specific revelations that God highlights to me. I’ve heard it said “a proverb a day keeps the devil at bay”; but here’s my adapted version, “a proverb a day helps me watch what I say!”
  3. Ask God for wisdom! James 1:5 tells us we can do that; and we can have it. There is no area of your life that is too small or too big for God’s wisdom, there is nothing insignificant or mundane about your prayers – go for it Mum, pray it today and watch what God does, through you. I pray for wisdom in my teaching, my leading, my cleaning strategies, my meal plans, my budget, my writing, my relationships and so much more.

Mothers, let us know true sisterhood with wisdom!

Talk to Wisdom as to a sister. Treat Insight as your companion. Prov 7 (Message)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

