Skip to content

Mothers are Givers

February 6, 2012

Tomorrow is our fourth child, Sienna-Raine’s, first birthday; today I’m reminiscent of this time last year as Dave and I packed off the children to Grandma’s and we were pacing the winter streets in early labour expecting our daughter’s arrival to be very imminent and actually she took her time.

This year I have lived fully in the grace of God, I have celebrated this precious gift of another daughter and given her every bit of my best (and my breast!).

So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up. Gal 6:9

A mother’s life is one of sacrifice and giving; if we are willing to embrace this with great joy rather than complain and begrudge it, I believe we will reap blessing, good character and wisdom.

Early in my walk of fully embracing motherhood I read this article by Ann Voskamp, this beautiful picture of a mothers sacrifice spoke deep into my soul and I began to walk in a fresh revelation of how my parenting was not merely a duty, a phase or a ‘season’,  but a noble calling, an offering of worship, an important and vital part of building His kingdom and an opportunity to give, to pluck from the deepest parts of my soul and line a foundation for my children’s lives.

She lines the nest with bits of herself. The best of her, from the deep spots.

Mothers are givers; we give in different ways – uniquely and sacrificially, but are you giving fully?

Is your giving intentional?

Is your giving from a secure heart?

Is your giving built on His joy and peace?

Is your giving out of His love for you?

Consider it pure JOY

In the midst of the fifth night waking, the husband shaking, your muscles aching

The nose, bottom and face wiping and the sibling swiping

The noise, the mess and the lack of wearing your little black dress (or getting back into it!)

The labour pain, the weight gain and the fact that some days all seem the same

Let your giving produce life, not strife

May your confession be ‘Oh Joy’ and not ‘Oh boy!’

May you live daily in His grace as together we run this race

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. James 1: 2-4


These Five of Mine

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 9:45 am

    That little poem is beautiful!! Did you write it? It aptly describes the life of a mother submitted and committed to her role! Happy first birthday to your newest, precious girl. My boys are coming up swiftly on their first birthday and sometimes I just want to scream for it all to SLOW down!! 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to link up!

    • leahboden permalink*
      February 12, 2012 6:44 pm

      Hi Kasey – yes I did write it…thank you!

  2. February 12, 2012 9:19 pm

    Popping by again real quick to let you know that I am featuring your blog at tomorrow’s link-up! As you might have guessed, you’ve inspired me!!

Leave a Reply

