Skip to content

What is Love?

February 8, 2012

Love is the marker between the maker and me
Love is choosing to trust, even when I can’t see
Love is forgiving and believing the best
Love is forgiving and standing the test
Love is the giving, the living and the sieving; through what is truth and what is emotion
Love is not a magic potion
Love is sometimes not a ‘nice’ feeling, love is sometimes just about grieving
Love is hearing his voice, love is making my choice
Love is waiting all day to just hold his hand
Love is not always caring that you “don’t know where you stand”
Love is the labour, the endurance, the pain
Love is holding a child and knowing life will never be the same
Love is what I’ve lived but know nothing about
Love is being watered in the flood and in the drought
Love is leading my heart even when they stab it
Love is choosing to make it a habit
Love is our future in the grasp of our King
Love is the sacrifice of praise that I bring
Love is being at home at His feet and in His face
Love is knowing it’s all by His grace

By Leah Boden

Linking up with the lovely Rhoda and other UK bloggers @ Living to Please God

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 7:56 pm

    “Love is what I’ve lived but know nothing about.” That resonates today. This is so lovely.

    Visiting from Ann’s today.

  2. February 8, 2012 9:54 pm

    This is so full of truth, Leah. I especially like that you pointed out that love is “sometimes not a nice feeling.” That’s a lie I believed for quite a while. And when we recognize those lies, Christ gives us the ability to choose His truth and be set free. Great post! I’m glad I stopped by!

  3. leahboden permalink*
    February 8, 2012 10:54 pm

    Thank you so much for your encouraging comments ladies, and thanks for popping by! Leah

  4. February 9, 2012 10:47 am

    That is so great leah!! Made me go goose pimply! 🙂

  5. February 11, 2012 11:17 pm

    Wow that’s a great poem! There are great thoughts in there, thank you for sharing 🙂

  6. February 19, 2012 7:26 pm

    You certainly have a gift! I printed this off! Thank you!

    • leahboden permalink*
      February 20, 2012 7:08 am

      Why thank you so much! Glad it blessed you…there’ll be more when I have some time!

  7. mama. permalink
    February 20, 2012 2:57 pm

    I just loved the poem about LOVE Leah.. it has brought it to a new level of understanding.. I always feel that LOVE is like a beautiful new garment that we put on with great joy as we walk through the day… Lovely. x

  8. leahboden permalink*
    February 20, 2012 3:22 pm

    Thanks Mum – I love YOU!

Leave a Reply

